We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruin pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
1075 Budapest, Kazinczy St 14, Budapest 1075, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
1 300 4009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,637 restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Erzsébetváros
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Ruin pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Probably the most famous bar amongst tourists. The word ruin pub says it all but if you do not know what to expect you can look at the pictures. However since they have become so popular with the foreigners their prices also went up a notch. Still you should not miss out on a chance to visit Szimpla at least to get a feel of this ruin pub because where else can you sit down in a bath tub or see bicycles hanging down from the walls :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    443
    192
    38
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Carrots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Very quirky dark lit bar with something for everyone ranging from shisha pipes to a cocktail bar the only thing I couldn't understand was the raw carrots that are sold but it made us smile

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Deserving ranking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Well deserved top spot position in the Budapest bar rankings. Quirky, and nothing else like it that we found in the city - and reasonably priced too (about ?1.50 for a local beer, similar for wine). Miss this and you miss out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've visted Szimpla both times that I've visited Budapest, and always had a great time. There are a bunch of different rooms to sit in/explore, and the atmosphere is amazing. It's very eclectic. I would definately recommend visiting Szimpla while in Budapest!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visited Szimpla Kert back in November 2012 and we loved it. It's different from your usual bar/pub/cocktail bar. I guess it has become very popularand touristy but who cares, some attractions should not be missed and this is certainly one of them. They did fabulous mulled wine. We went around the whole building, there is a different surprise through each door. If you are going to Budapest make sure you visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.