We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruin pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Kazinczy utca 14., Budapest 1075, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)
1 300 4009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 2,049 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Vegetarian, Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: Szimpla Farm Shop under 7. Kazinczy street is open for you! We couldn't take it anymore that you can only buy these producer goods on Sundays, so we made the essence available for the weekdays too. Soups with meat and vegetarian, Mangalica hot dog, sandwiches from the best available materials from real producers. Cakes, cookies, strudels from sweet cheese, poppy seed, apple, all from Szimpla.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ruin pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Probably the most famous bar amongst tourists. The word ruin pub says it all but if you do not know what to expect you can look at the pictures. However since they have become so popular with the foreigners their prices also went up a notch. Still you should not miss out on a chance to visit Szimpla at least to get a feel of this ruin pub because where else can you sit down in a bath tub or see bicycles hanging down from the walls :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    378
    77
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Carrots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Very quirky dark lit bar with something for everyone ranging from shisha pipes to a cocktail bar the only thing I couldn't understand was the raw carrots that are sold but it made us smile

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Deserving ranking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Well deserved top spot position in the Budapest bar rankings. Quirky, and nothing else like it that we found in the city - and reasonably priced too (about ?1.50 for a local beer, similar for wine). Miss this and you miss out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've visted Szimpla both times that I've visited Budapest, and always had a great time. There are a bunch of different rooms to sit in/explore, and the atmosphere is amazing. It's very eclectic. I would definately recommend visiting Szimpla while in Budapest!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visited Szimpla Kert back in November 2012 and we loved it. It's different from your usual bar/pub/cocktail bar. I guess it has become very popularand touristy but who cares, some attractions should not be missed and this is certainly one of them. They did fabulous mulled wine. We went around the whole building, there is a different surprise through each door. If you are going to Budapest make sure you visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.