We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip place to be in Budapest, but tourists found about it, too.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
1075 Budapest, Kazinczy St 14, Budapest 1075, Hungary
1 300 4009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,864 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Hip place to be in Budapest, but tourists found about it, too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I loved coming to this place because of it alternative and underground type of character. The crowd was a mix of hip local urbanites mixed with some expatriates. Last time we were there, we saw some people with ties and formal jackets coming for a drink after work. Even worse, we saw some German tourists there. not sure if we would be back.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    311
    63
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of my favourites, living here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Even though there's not too much music, it's a great place to hang out with friends and do some people-watching. Even though it gets crowded, it's still a lot of fun. Prices are very reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

This place is really hip. We went twice on a four night trip to Budapest. It's such a great idea to have ruin bars! The music was great and everyone really friendly. Would defo recommend it! I love Szimpla Kert!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beyond words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place is so cool. The idea of ruin bars in general is awesome, but this one was recommended to me by a friend, and in my opinion, it's the best. Each room provides a new experience, with new furniture and decor and things to look at. I will definitely be back during my next trip to Budapest.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good beer garden to enjoy in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Having been here both during the day and night, I would recommend you come early in the day and enjoy a glass if beer in the sun. I think we were bitten when sitting in the ornamental car, so chose benches instead. It is interesting to look around, my burger was very good. On the next few streets quite a few of these ruin bars exist and they are cheaper in the main, but I wold recommend that this is one you simply must see. Can be difficult to get the bar staffs attention and service can be slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.