We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly authentic Italian kitchen ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Krizia

Ristorante Krizia
Mozsar utca 12., Budapest 1066, Hungary (Terézváros)
+36 1 3318711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly authentic Italian kitchen ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Truly authentic Italian kitchen.
Fresh ingredients absolute superb quality and reasonably priced. The place is hard to find and in a surrounding street area one would not immediately expect. Nevertheless we much enjoyed the ambiance and great service. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joszi, Guest Relations Manager at Ristorante Krizia, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Hi there,

Thank you for your pleasant comment and review! It was a pleasure for us!

See you soon,

Krizia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    44
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The most Italian restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place I was already in love with when we couldn't find it. The sign is so small that it's easy to pass by. Just like in Italy with the best little hidden trattorias. The atmosphere is so warm, so simple, so welcoming that you feel at easy immediately. The service is outstanding - not too pushy, but the two waiters are always there when you need something. The food is also marvellous - they have everything you can wish for in a real Italian. Seafood, fresh pasta and finger-licking risotto, amazing meat and appetizers, and of course seasonal goodies. I recommend this place to everybody to pamper themselves on special family or romantic occasions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joszi, Guest Relations Manager at Ristorante Krizia, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Hi there,

Thank for your "excellent" review. Hope we will see you arund pretty soon!

Cheers,

Krizia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Top Dinner for 3 With Wine for Less Than 80€”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having randomly chosen this restaurant to meet a friend, we were pleasantly surprised at the high end service and atmosphere, choices were plentiful and the wine was outstanding, much to choose from.
We ended up getting the salmon with veggies and dried tomatoes, the pasta with scallops and mushrooms and the pasta with spinach and veggies, then for desert the red fruit, ice cream and cake like desert.
Very good service, great attitude, fast with the order and tasty, very highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joszi, Guest Relations Manager at Ristorante Krizia, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Hi Steve!

We are so glad that you were totally satisfied with us! Do not hesitate to come back again!

Cheers,
Krizia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy in Pest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We had fond memories of this restaurant, so we decided to re-visit it. Trends and time didn't had an effect on it, it was still the rustic little place, as we remembered. The wine card is convincing, offering bubbles, whites and reds from Hungary and Italy. We started with lovely rosé bubbles and got delicious appetizers (bruschetta). We went for the traditional carpaccio and a seasonal offer radicchio dish as a starter. Main dish home made pasta and lamb. Nothing to complain about. Sadly it didn't leave us enough place for desert. Waiter was very polite, not too pushy. Despite it is a really nice Italian, it was for a Friday evening too empty. Later some compatriots came along, which is always a good sign. Plus point: no service charge added to the bill.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joszi, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Ristorante Krizia, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Hi there,

Thank you for your comments. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the moments in our restaurant.
Hope we will see each other again!

Cheers,
Krizia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“3+ Decades & As Good As Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have been enjoying meals in Krizia since the 1990's, and had the pleasure to drop in late one Friday night in January 2014 after the opera. Since the kitchen is open until 23:00 we were in good fortune. Krizia is a hidden gem on a quiet street in the middle of the theatre district. And after 3 decades serving delicious meals, they still get it oh so right.

We typically sit in the back of this small 15ish table cellar establishment, and wait with anticipation as we know one of us (my wife and I) will end up ordering the ravioli stuffed with foie gras and topped with truffles.......The service - same head waiter for almost 10 years now - is solid and leaves you to enjoy your meal without interruption. After a small appetizer (tasty bread with olives and cheese) given by the chef we placed our order.

As a starter I had the warm fresh seafood salad, while the better-half had the caprese. Both are delicious, as the mozzarella cheese is real melt-in-your-mouth fresh and the tomatoes tasted surprisingly fresh (surprising since it's in the dead of winter), while my salad was excellent. On a bed of mix greens lay a host of fresh calamari, white fish, salmon and clams. All good with a bit of sauce. Excellent and just the right size so we could share dishes.

And the mains - well we both ordered our favorite - the ravioli stuffed with foie gras and topped with truffles. It is just very good. The pasta is fresh and clean, while the foie gras is flavorful without being overwhelming and the truffle flavor - well its just a wonderful combination and one we've been enjoying for 15+ years. The main is a nice portion without being overbearing. You will not leave hungry that's for certain.

And because we canted to enjoy our drinks a bit longer, we went for the tiramisu for dessert. A nice small serving complimented with fresh fruits and a raspberry sauce that made for a great end to the meal.

Mix in a couple glasses of beer and wine and the total was just at 20,000 HuF including a nice tip. Krizia has been a favorite of mine for years - and will continue to be. I enjoy the quaintness of the place - it's small in a cellar with only a small (non descript) sign outside. This is a local place (or used to be) as the street it sits on is not a major walkway, but rather hidden side street.

I would appreciate Krizia serving a larger variety of wines by the glass, but that's about the only thing I would change. The chef, the service, the fresh food, the flavors - they all very much fit our liking.

Thank you Krizia and Chef Graziano Cattaneo - we always enjoy your kitchen.

Enjoy,

Jeremy

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joszi, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Ristorante Krizia, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Hi Jeremy,

We are so glad that you feel that our restaurant is a hidden gem in Pest! Thanks for your thoughts, indeed. Can't wait to see you around again!

Cheers,
Krizia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Krizia also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ristorante Krizia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Krizia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.