We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a posh place but why not treat yourself?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robinson Restaurant

Robinson Restaurant
Varosligeti to, Budapest 1146, Hungary (Városliget)
+36 1 422 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #339 of 1,985 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Városliget
Description: Robinson restaurant opened in 1989 on the small island of gastronomy at Varosligeti Lake, a few minutes on foot from Heroes' Square (Hosok tere). Over the past decades it earned popularity among the citizens of the capital as well as the expatriate community of Budapest. Numerous great celebrities - Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Robert Redford, David Copperfield and Larry Hagman to name but a few - have tasted the delicacies prepared in the kitchen of the Robinson. The environment of the restaurant is no less hospitable. The Museum of Fine Arts, the Budapest Zoological and Botanical Gardens, the Amusement Park of Budapest, the Great Circus and several other landmarks are located in Varosliget. Mediterranean environment, homely atmosphere, live Latin guitar music and an excellent kitchen guarantee a memorable evening spent here.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's a posh place but why not treat yourself?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I used to come to this restaurant pre-2008 when it was a slightly different concept. I really recommend the steaks here- the meat was absolutely succulent. We had a good table at the back of the restaurant where we had a view of the Vajdahunyad castle at night- very beautiful. Great wine recommendation from the waiter: it was a Hungarian red wine which was slightly spakling on the toungue- very nice. Good atmosphere in a romantic setting. Could offer more dessert choices though :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    210
    70
    33
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Appearance and Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very good salmon with steak potatoes. Desserts very recommended, dishes are carefully decorated.
Pay attention to the water, it is very expensive! We paid 8-9€ for two 750cl bottles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed your time in our Restaurant and were very satisfied with the meal you had. Our Chef and his entire team always pay special attention on the quality and presentation of the dishes they prepare. It is our hope that you will return and have more of their delicious creations.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably magical at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Was recommended this place by friends and was planning to come for dinner but ended up coming across it at lunch time. In a lovely lakeside spot but food a bit limited and prices on the high side. Lit up under moonlight I'm sure it's lovely but I was disappointed considering the recommendation I got. Good chips though !

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRobinson, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear 27smcq,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We are sad to read thaat our restaurant could not fully meet your expectatios of us! We will be definitely looking into how we could give our meals a better price curve, as we would like every one of our guest to leave us with a smile!

We hope that, if you happen upon us again, the nighttime magic of the lake will find its way to you as well!

Sincerely,

The Robinson Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This place is expensive for the city of budapest. The reason for that is the great taste of food, wines and the location and atmosphere. That is just perfect. It is the best for couples. After 6pm everybody is welcome, before that time they seem closed and send you away. At least, that was my experience a few times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts here! Your positive remarks are the proof, we are on the right way. Our aim is to satisfy our guests in every way, and I am glad, that we could reach our goal in your case! I sincerely hope, that we will be beyond your expectations next time too!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful place best matched with wonderful company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Place was certainly top-notch and food was fantastic. The place has a wonderful pond view. I'll be sure to return here on my next trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robinson Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Robinson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinson Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.