We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robinson Restaurant

Robinson Restaurant
Varosligeti to, Budapest 1146, Hungary (Városliget)
+36 1 422 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #366 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Városliget
Description: Robinson restaurant opened in 1989 on the small island of gastronomy at Varosligeti Lake, a few minutes on foot from Heroes' Square (Hosok tere). Over the past decades it earned popularity among the citizens of the capital as well as the expatriate community of Budapest. Numerous great celebrities - Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Robert Redford, David Copperfield and Larry Hagman to name but a few - have tasted the delicacies prepared in the kitchen of the Robinson. The environment of the restaurant is no less hospitable. The Museum of Fine Arts, the Budapest Zoological and Botanical Gardens, the Amusement Park of Budapest, the Great Circus and several other landmarks are located in Varosliget. Mediterranean environment, homely atmosphere, live Latin guitar music and an excellent kitchen guarantee a memorable evening spent here.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

What an amazing experience this was!!! I don't know what one of the reviewers was expecting, but this restaurant met EVERY expectation we had. Wonderful cosy, chic surroundings, friendly experienced and knowledgable staff, INCREDIBLE food. The food looked and tasted wonderful, you could almost feel the love and care put into each and every dish.The ambience was superb. I think i would return when i'm back in Budapest...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks a milion for your kind words. Our dear Chef, and all the Team are delighted that their work has been so much appreciated! Our restaurant is renewed in every way, and it would be great if we could greet you again in our unique atmosphere!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    164
    56
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Professional Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have lately seen this observant service and perfect kitchen.The cold pate' de foie gras was the perfect choice,I could feel it was made of a qualitative foie gras.The Angus steak was literally perfect,it was well-done just like we ordered.And the pepper sauce is the best in the city.It was a great and an unforgettable night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rotisserie heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

There are many steak-houses in Budapest and a 2 are quite excellent. The latest edition to the trend was opened on the upper floor of the well established Robinson restaurant. We paid a visit to the new Rotisserie for dinner with 3. Admittedly to stack it up against places I think are best and to test the famed beef cuts of the Italian master butcher Dario Cecchini (vs mostly US cuts in other restaurants). The story of the Italian butcher is quite convincing, family business for 250 odd years with their own organic kettle, butcher shop and meat curing. So beef on offer are butchered and aged in Italy. In the restaurants the different cuts and the whole story is clearly explained on separate cards with illustrations and so on. It's neatly presented, if you are not into beef, you'll learn a lot here. Cuts are offered in 2 sizes (big and bigger :) and of course take medium-rare or medium. The sides are the usual steakhouse affair> various sauces, potatoes, spinach, veggies and so on, as you'd expect.
i went for a 300gr tenderloin with steak potato, garlic - spinnach leaf and port wine mushroom sauce (pictured).
the beef was 100/100 really absolute perfection. nice char on the outside, super tender warm throughout, well rested so no blood but pink throughout. very nicely done.
sides 90/100 - I prefer the mushroom sauce to be bit more thick and creamy vs slightly runny. still great taste, fresh forest mushrooms so in general not bad. the spinach and potato were excellent again, but you sort of expect that :)
All in all its certainly up there with the best in Budapest, we'll be back for more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a complete privilege reading your review! Thanks a million for sharing your kind thoughts here with the community. Me and the whole staff were more than delighted to read that you had a great time with us! We are very happy that our work has been appreciated - Thank you! Quality is our first priority, and you ensured us that we are on the right way!
We look forward to welcome you back soon!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Late and cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Today we had lunch at Robinson. The place is wonderful and the weather fantastic. To start I ordered a beef soup ( explicitly very hot) and a glass of wine. The soup was served terribly cold. I asked for warming the dish again. A cold insipid soup came back to the table. No signs of the wine yet. Ten minutes after finishing the non tasty cold soup I was still waiting for the wine. And the rest of my family waiting for their food as well. Really bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabica1984, Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We do appreciate your feedback. We are really sorry arrive late and cold the food.
In the future we would like to improve it. Hopefully we would be able to achive your statisfaction on a next dinner at us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never coming back again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I've been here in the beginning of October with a group of 16 persons. Everything was terrible. There was no atmosphere and the waiters were really waiting till we left the restaurant. Even the music was switched off when we were eating!!!! The food was nog price worth and it tasted like the food was coming directly out of the fridge (we can know it, when we received it, it was still cold). All 16 of us were more than disappointed. Please do not come to this restaurant. Also the manager was rude, very not done. If you want prove that we've been there please ask me, I can provide you the bill.

Afke

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robinson Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Robinson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinson Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.