We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like NYC's Tavern on the Green” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robinson Restaurant

Robinson Restaurant
Varosligeti to, Budapest 1146, Hungary (Városliget)
+36 1 422 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #301 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Városliget
Description: Robinson restaurant opened in 1989 on the small island of gastronomy at Varosligeti Lake, a few minutes on foot from Heroes' Square (Hosok tere). Over the past decades it earned popularity among the citizens of the capital as well as the expatriate community of Budapest. Numerous great celebrities - Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sylvester Stallone, Robert Redford, David Copperfield and Larry Hagman to name but a few - have tasted the delicacies prepared in the kitchen of the Robinson. The environment of the restaurant is no less hospitable. The Museum of Fine Arts, the Budapest Zoological and Botanical Gardens, the Amusement Park of Budapest, the Great Circus and several other landmarks are located in Varosliget. Mediterranean environment, homely atmosphere, live Latin guitar music and an excellent kitchen guarantee a memorable evening spent here.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like NYC's Tavern on the Green”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

OK, TOTG is now closed, but if you ever ate there, you get the idea.

A well-known Budapest associate suggested we meet there for lunch. It's easily reached by Metro. Lunch for 4, with tip, ran $132. I had the duck with pasta, which is a classic Hungarian dish.
Try getting lunch for 4 at a swanky place in a large U.S. city for that price.

Service was attentive, even before my Hungarian friends arrived, i.e., we got good service even as Hungarian-less Americans.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks a milion for your kind words. Our dear Chef, and all the Team are delighted that their work has been so much appreciated! Our restaurant is renewed in every way, and it would be great if we could greet you again in our unique atmosphere!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    190
    64
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good location, rubbish service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

the restaurant is nicely decorated and the food is above average, but the service is a joke. after walking in, we had to ask the waiter for the menu after being ignored for about 5 minutes. we spent 20 minutes waiting for the bill, during which a waiter came by not with our bill but with a piece of paper with his phone number written on it...! after that we attempted to pass our bill to several waiters, but to no avail. 3 or 4 waiters simply sailed right by us while avoiding eye contact. when we asked why we had to wait for 20 minutes to get a bill and another 10 minutes to pay it, the head waiter rudely cut us off and said that "everyone is asking the bill, ordering this that, at same time." well, yes. that is actually what customers at a restaurant do. if you have a problem with your customers wanting to order and then pay you despite your ridiculously awful service, you are in the wrong business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Tried it Again...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Still not very happy from with service from the last visit, we tried it again. I must note that they have strange opening times, it seems they rent the place out very often for private parties, one shoudl call ahead before searching for a parking place.
Probably one of the nicest locations in city center to eat, like sitting on a lake somewhere in the province.
The food was pretty good, the service was better this time and we even got a smile, although it seems they are sick of tourists, which is strange considering it is probably at least 50% of the people I spotted eating there.
Still it is a nice place to sit in comfy chairs on the water, if it is full and your dressed with a jacket just head up the street to Gundel!
We will return, I am optimistic about the service getting better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest!

How kind of you, that you shared your praising words here! Thank you very much for your positive feedback, it is our greatest reward! Our top priority, to provide excellence for our guest! I am more than delighted that we could meet your expectations!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Glitzy but not quite worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We came here for a business dinner and were attended to quickly. It was a Tuesday and although the restaurant was not completely full there were a good few guests. We did not have to wait long for drinks however the food took a bit longer. The menu is not extensive and there were a few additional specials on the menu. Portions were not big and the waiter did not remind us to order bread (it costs money). Mains were nice but portions were smaller than expected. The location is convenient (all of the city park sights and the Szecheny Baths are within walking distance).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks a milion for your kind words. Our dear Chef, and all the Team are delighted that their work has been so much appreciated! Our restaurant is renewed in every way, and it would be great if we could greet you again in our unique atmosphere!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Very decent meal in a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I had a really good meal, sitting outside by the lake. We had a nice warm evening, the first sitting outdoors for me this year, and I chose traditional Hungarian dishes, which were very good. Service was also good and attentive. One of my Hungarian colleagues chose a Hungarian red wine which was just amazing: I think it is the first time I drink Hungarian wine, and it was such a nice surprise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Robinson Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robinson Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Robinson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinson Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.