We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spinoza

Spinoza
Dob utca 15., Budapest 1074, Hungary
+3614137488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Turnhout, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went here multiple times during our citytrip. And everytime, the service, the food and the atmosphere was excellent. It wasn't cheap compared to other Hungarian restaurant but to Belgium standards, it was still cheap!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    428
    116
    45
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“If it wasn't for the music....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

....they would have received an even lower rating.

Last night, I went to Chess and spent the same amount of money and had a far superior meal. I actually walked past Chess to get to Spinoza which was my first mistake of the evening.

Starting with the positives, the live piano music created a nice atmosphere. The spicy hummus and beef was a good appetizer.

The negatives were many. I already mentioned the price which did not provide good value. My wife had chicken on a bed of mixed greens (also known as iceberg lettuce). The chicken was over cooked and had no flavor. I had the house specialty, Solet F. Libamelle (7 tiny slices of meat, a boiled egg and massive bowl of beans). No flavor but silly price. This was my least favorite meal in Budapest. If this was the House Specialty, I sure wouldn't want to try their other dishes. Oh, and their service was curt and disinterested in providing adequate service.

I went her because this was ranked 40th on Trip Advisors. I guess they changed the cook or I simply went on the wrong day. Go up the street and have dinner at Chess.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Piano music and interior lovely, from the past. Loved it for that! I would go here for a drink, as i saw some locals doing.. Food was absolutely horrible, dry chicken breast and potatos swimming in oil! Eww.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spinoza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had great evening - on Fridays they have a concert with Klezmer music (talented group) and then a meal for around £15 - good atmosphere, food nice, music great - well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant is located in the Jewish Quarter. It is good value for money and offers traditional Hungarian food as well as western style food. The staff are really friendly and speak very good english. On the evening we went there was live piano music being played and the restaurant had a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinoza also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Spinoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spinoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.