We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hummus Bar

Hummus Bar
Oktober 6 St. 19, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36 1 354 0108
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Grill, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: We believe in curiosity and the pursuit of new experiences, a journey that leads to far lands and distant times. Since the beginning of time, food has been the most vital necessity for survival and besides that, a main source of joy. This is one of the few things that never change. Food is the oldest venue which brings worlds together. The first HummusBar was opened in 2005, and since then, our restaurants have become a part of the city with several locations. We are present in the most desirable spots of the urban scene with a boutique flavour to our food and our sites. Our food is unique by its simplicity. We use quality ingredients, our dishes are homemade, fresh and nutritious, based on ancient recipes. We keep our atmosphere humble and welcoming. Everyday, we work to riming our guests how simple a thing can be to enjoy life.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Slow service, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Found this cafe style restaurant quite by accident. It was full of locals so we decided to give it a try. The service was very slow but the choice of food, mainly Greek was very comprehensive. Everything was cooked to order. The food when it arrived was excellent. Great value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    167
    47
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great cheap place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a meat wrap here which was lovely, nice sauces with it. Plenty of vegetarian options too which are quite hard to find in Hungary. Had a good coffee here too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was brilliant - quick, cheap, clean, great location, and good quality food. Amazing for veggies and anyone craving anything non-European (or American)!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
686 reviews 686 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
“Original but I not my cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

For me hummus was an appetizer, not a whole meal nor main dish so that is an original approach. One of the specialty is the falafel which is not my cup of tea.
We ordered the kebab (beef & lamb) and I thought it would mean some meat but it looked very similar to the falafel and tasted almost the same.
The hummus with chicken has about 1 oz of chicken sprinkled over a plate of hummus. So I would say just stick to vegetarian dishes because I was not convinced by the meat part.
We ordered egg plant salad and I thought I would actually see eggplants. It is in fact half baba ghanoush (eggplant puree with tahini) which I love and half tomato concentrate paste - yuk.
The great surprise was the flat bread they cook themselves, MUCH better than pita, more like a naan. And the nice touch is to be welcomed by a small glass of mint tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Relief for the Vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My vegetarian wife was becoming fed up with pizza, so she was delighted to find the Hummus Bar, which proved to be a little gem. It has a varied menu of vegetarian and meat dishes, The food was tasty, although my chicken in a tomato and smoked paprika sauce (SHAKSHUKA) was a little burnt. My wife's falafel received a lot of praise. A very pleasant and fulfilling lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummus Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hummus Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummus Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.