We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value take away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hummus Bar

Hummus Bar
Oktober 6 St. 19, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36 1 354 0108
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: We believe in curiosity and the pursuit of new experiences, a journey that leads to far lands and distant times. Since the beginning of time, food has been the most vital necessity for survival and besides that, a main source of joy. This is one of the few things that never change. Food is the oldest venue which brings worlds together. The first HummusBar was opened in 2005, and since then, our restaurants have become a part of the city with several locations. We are present in the most desirable spots of the urban scene with a boutique flavour to our food and our sites. Our food is unique by its simplicity. We use quality ingredients, our dishes are homemade, fresh and nutritious, based on ancient recipes. We keep our atmosphere humble and welcoming. Everyday, we work to riming our guests how simple a thing can be to enjoy life.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were staying at the Iberostar Grand on the same street so decided one night to get a healthy takeaway. This place was great value, and everything tasted so fresh and healthy that it made a nice change from the usual heavy dinners. There were lots of meat and vegetarian options so really catered for all tastes. Prices were great, we paid the equivalent of a £4 per meal. I think there are a few of these dotted around budapest so you should be able to find one near you. Can't really comment on service as it's functional but the place was clean and modern which is always reassuring.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    145
    40
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the falafel and Kebab plates! great value and great food! went here 2x on our trip to Budapest. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic in every imaginable way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Don't make the same mistake my friend and i made by not frequenting this homely establishment. We spent 6 days prior in Budapest without the knowledge of its existence, only to finally venture on the eve of our departure. The food doesn't need description, the photo's denote how fresh and well presented the meals/range are. The service is of a reputable standard, with charismatic and assistive waiters. Honestly, over order. Dis-regard what the waiter says, don't eat the day prior and taste everything on the menu. And i doubt you'll spend over 15euro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and perfect for both lunch or dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love Hummus and we came across this lovely spot right near St Stephen's basilica. When you arrive you receive a free glass of home made lemonade and the atmosphere outside is great. The food was so good (and cheap) we went back for lunch the next day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good luncheon place near Central Basilica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went there for lunch on a hot summer day. Outdoor seating is in great demand & need to make a reservation in advance if you want to sit outside.

Positives:
* Great food. We ordered a couple of veg dishes and all were good. Additions can be ordered to custom make things as you like without feeling the pinch to the wallet. Their homemade lemonade is good. Their portions are good to generous.
* Overall billing wasn't expensive at all when we considered how much we had ordered.
* Complimentary wi fi for guests which is great when you have waiting time to kill.
* Convenient location as it is 5 minutes walk away from the Central Basilica on October street

Need to improve:
* Service. It was slow even if you are seated indoors. It took us a whole hour to finish the meal which was probably 15-20 minutes longer than it should have taken.
* Indoor ambience. Rather plain and does not feel as lively as the outdoors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummus Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hummus Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummus Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.