We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gastronome's delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bock Bistro

Bock Bistro
Erzsebet krt.43-49., Budapest, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
+36 1 321 0340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,780 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Erzsébetváros
Huntersville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gastronome's delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

And to think this fine eating establishment was not our first choice for the night. Could not have had a better meal anywhere in Budapest. It was also our most expensive meal. Just next door to the Corinthian Hotel. The waiter was so helpful and spot on with his suggestions. Goose, braised leg of goat - oh my! And the biggest surprise was the spread for the bread. Too bad we 'stumbled' on this the last night in Budapest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    169
    52
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked dinner at Bock, and enjoyed it so much we cancelled other arrangements to return. A busy restaurant is usually a good sign, and this proved no exception: very friendly yet professional service, backed with real knowledge and passion for the food and wines Bock serves, and with a kitchen that knows how to take traditional Hungarian cuisine and turn up the volume. We ordered from the standard menu and from the specials chalked up daily, and in all instances the food was perfectly judged. We did ask for wine recommendations, and were happy to go with bottles recommended: warning, this will cost you! We were prepared for that, but do check and don't get caught up in the moment! Hungarian wine has come a very long way, and the Bock's are among the leading producers - so do try there wines while you are there. It's not a cheap restaurant, but for what you get it's perfectly reasonable: I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Saw this place on a first day exploratory walk from hotel and it just looked so inviting. We went next night. It is on busy street and small. You can try walking in but best to just make reservations. The dishes did trend more gourmet than what I would imagine "home style." We started with salmon tartare and a sushi. I had the roast duck with pate. Very good but rich as you can imagine. The dessert was chocolate cake with sour cherry sauce. It was more like a mousse but delicious still! Good wine. Nice atmosphere. Friendly service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tons of atmosphere don't miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant for dinner and I would certainly recommend it for visitors who want to try authentic Hungarian Cuisine.
It's one of those bustling restaurants with efficient waiters dashing about and live accordion music giving the place a delightful atmosphere in which to enjoy a meal - and what does it matter that Hungarian food is not the greatest in the world ( at least for me it's not).
But please make sure you book beforehand as it is unlikely you will get a seat on the off chance!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Being Hungarian visiting my country I can tell that Bock Bisztro as authentic as it can be. Unbelievable wine selection and wonderful kitchen. The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. The service is flawless and timely. I would give 6 star if I could

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bock Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bock Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.