We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best italian ever !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Toscana

Trattoria Toscana
Belgrad Rakpart 13 | 5th District, Budapest H-1052, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
+36-1-327-0045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 1,984 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Trattoria Toscana and it's adjacent L'enoteca Wine bar are beautifully located along the Danube river and offer you excellent, authentic Tuscan cuisine and top quality Italian and Hungarian wines. Our friendly, multi-lingual staff pay special attention to your needs and enjoy helping to create a pleasurable dining experience for you.Buon Apetito!
Belgrade
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best italian ever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

From the beginning till the very end, one word: professionalism ! Service is excellent, wine list very good and with affordable prices. But their main asset remain the meals !! With my girlfriend we went there for Valentine day and tried the special menu: FANTASTIC ! Really nice value for price there and it was so good that we returned there two days later ! Really I recommend it to anyone passing by Budapest !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    204
    50
    30
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best from Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was eating there with my girlfriend, who is actually vegeterian. She ordered Vega Pizza filled with vegetables and topped with tasty cheese - i tried and also loved it, super taste - best vegetarian pizza from town. I ordered fois gras with vincento sauce - was delicious ;), and huge portion, almost like a main course. For main course i ordered the Fiorentina Steak - that was amazing also and very nice, medium fried. To drink this restaurant is the best - especially for wine lovers! They have plenty of different wines from all over Italy and Hungary. We tried Peccorino, Brunello and Furmint - all of them were really nice and fit together with our food, as the waiter recommended.
A great place to eat - looking forward to eat there again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is one of the best Italian restaurant in Budapest. The Assortment of dishes is wide enough, beside beef, pork, and chicken also available lot of (relative) fresh seefoods.
The location is nice, right at riverside, nice view to the river Danube, and Gellért mountain. To find a parking place is almost impossible, better to arrive by Taxi. Usualy (especialy at weekend) fully booked, better to reserve table in advance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Forgettable Italian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Not sure who have given positive reviews to this restaurant...I living in Budapest and had good Italian food before. The food was really bad: fish was extremely bad and pasta was way overcooked. Tiramisu was not bad though...Service was good, location convinient but food was bad!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanuckinBp, Owner at Trattoria Toscana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jomtov,

I am really sorry you did not receive the quality of food that we strive to serve in Trattoria Toscana. Our standard of quality is quite high, so hopefully yours was an isolated incident, but I would like to check it in detail to be sure. Could I ask what kind of fish it was that you had? Did you dine on Jan. 29th?

We would appreciate another chance to satisfy you, if you would be so kind to send me a message so we can serve you to your expectations.

Thank you kindly,
Rob Longworth
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Italy by the Danube, best in the Pest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Okay, lets be honest, Budapest is not where I for one would expect to find a brilliant Italian, the wife and I had gone expecting goulash, paprika sausage and maybe a little dubious soup, the staple of Hungrarians lives or so I believed. BTW The Hungrarians are the natives of Hungraria, whose capital is Budapest, confused? ask Mrs F

It was our first night in Pest, we had wandered out from our hotel along the Danube, looking for food, the Marriots international faire being about as appealing as three day old pizza. At first it wasnt looking promising, we got royally ripped off in a bar paying a small mortgage for a couple of vodkas, but more by luck than judgement we stumbled on the Tratt, and on the basis that it was busy and even Hungrarians cant be wrong, in we went.

We ate incredibly well, with a shared plate of ham and cheese followed by ghnocci with duck ragout and some home made pasta with porcinis and a butter and sage sauce, along with a great hungarian red this topped out at £25 each, a bargain for a great meal, so good in fact we resolved to return on our last night ,Saturday the 27th of Jan 2013

From the minute you go through the door you leave Pest behind and enter a little bit of Italy, the people are welcoming, the staff friendly and very helpful, the chef is different, he speaks English in a kinda "Allo Allo" Italian accent, which was probably why we agreed to go with his sharers 1 kilo T Bone as our main on visit number 2, simply saute'd in salt and herbs, it was wonderful and came with some excellent rosemary potatoes and spinach, we'd had a linguine vongale and some black mussels to start and I had the catanucci biscuits and Vina Santos to finish, absolutely stunning, we went a bit OTT with the wine a 2006 Aureus at almost £30, but the bill was still short of 3 figures, and without doubt incredible value, this is an incredible restaurant, I'd go back to Pest just to eat there.......

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Toscana also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Trattoria Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Toscana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.