We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Bull Sport Pub

John Bull Sport Pub
Apaczai Csere Janos utca 17. | Lánchíd / Chainbrigde, Budapest 1051, Hungary
+3613382168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #919 of 1,865 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $5 - $34
Cuisines: European, English, Continental, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Just behind the InterConteninal (which charges for WiFi). Free WiFi good service. The first time I've found Cinder between Munich & Budapest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    64
    35
    13
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatwick UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A great pub English pub to the side of the InterContinental Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great food with a suprisingly big and very good menue. very cosy and not the "normal" english pub. Food and beverage prices were very reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worst fish and chips ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had set my hopes high only to have them smacked right down. This place had the hands down worst fish and chips ever. On a positive note the Goulash was great. They do have American Football games on if you want to catch a game while your there. Just remember the time difference (morning games are on Sunday night)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Se England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pub atmosphere, good, honest food and large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent traditional Hungarian food if you want it, as well as the normal pun 'fare'. The 2 and 3 course set meals are great value and really large portions. Goulash soup must be just about the best in Budapest. Comfort food for cold days; you'll leave feeling full to,the brim!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food but Basil Fawlty service Hungarian style”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The waitress did not speak very good English when I needed the menu explained to me...refered me to a very grumpy manager who thought I was complaining and was very rude and patronizing...I asked for a glass of wine for 799 HUF but was charged 1598 HUF because the waitress decided to serve me a large measure...when I questioned this .... I got a very alarming display of wine glasses filled with water to explain the difference in price....yes Im in the customer industry myself so I know these things however you always ask a customer wheither they want a large or small glass and not assume!!..food was very good and tasty but very upset with dramatic attitude from Basil Fawlty...paid my bill and left ..will not recommend to any of my colleagues who stay here on a regular basis..infact this Manager is well known for his rudeness when speaking to others ..not a good reputation to have..An English pub let down by embarrassing terrible Hungarian service and waitressing staff who dont understand the English language when they dont want to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Bull Sport Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to John Bull Sport Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Bull Sport Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.