We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hungarian experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mori Kisvendeglo

Mori Kisvendeglo
Pozsonyi ut 39., Budapest 1137, Hungary
1/349-8390
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,461 of 1,784 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian
Restaurant details
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hungarian experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very good Hungarian cooking, extremely friendly staff, very tidy and cozy place. Watch out for the chili, it's very hot.
The menu is in Hungarian, English and German, but communicating with the staff a bit hard. No matter though, had a very good time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How much paid to lonely planet?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I went to the restaurant because is recomended in lonely planet guide. But I wouldn't recomend neither my worst enemy. The place is small, the food is fatty, and the price is relatively expensive compared with common price in budapest. It's classified as hungarian food but i'm sure hungarians can cook better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Vradim, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good Hungarianhome cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Went to Mori following recommendation from family members who are very familiar with Budapest. The resturant is small , with a homely ambiance, nice for lunch but not for an evening out. We started with the soups - the Gulash was good and the Matza balls soup was excellent. My husband (of Hungarian origin) had stuffed cabage and claimed it was as good as his mother's (a great compliment, as you can imagin..). I had Vienne Schnitzel, which was very good.
Overall cost of the good lunch was very cheap. Reccomended

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing hungarian food. Authentic place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I had one problem, big one. I don't speak neither read or undestand hungarian. The menu is in magyar, so it was a bit complicated until a lady who came to the place helped me.
I chose Solet, my grandmother used to cook this and it was amazing!!
I liked the food very much, and the coffee, expresso, EXCELLENT!
On a glass with the milk on the side and the sugar in cubes. Beautifull.

I definitley recommend this place, but bring a translation dictionary.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Authentic Hungarian cousine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

Authentic Hungarian cousine

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mori Kisvendeglo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mori Kisvendeglo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mori Kisvendeglo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.