We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavours of India!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Indian Restaurant

Indigo Indian Restaurant
Jokai 13 | 1066, Budapest 1066, Hungary
+36 1 428 2187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #318 of 1,993 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic downtown Indian restaurant operating since 2005.We also do deliveries takeaways and party catering.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Flavours of India!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Aparantly a rare find in this city - a high class Indian restaurant - as recommended in the latest AA Guide book to Budapest, and we weren't disappointed. The food and service was excellent and there were some unusual dishes.I had a chicken dish with spinach, when it arrived I was a little apprehensive to see it was really green! But it WAS delicious As I can't remember the name get the English menu and it will be described!
The street this restaurant is on is parallel on the river-side of Terez Korut just 5 mins North from Oktogon Metro or tram stop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    75
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyväskylä
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Indian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice and clean Indian restaurant. We ordered veggie and chicken soup, Palak Paneer and Chicken Vindaloo from the lunch menu. Everything was good, vindaloo was nicely spicy for my taste. Recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really good Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us as the best Indian in Budapest and we weren't disappointed! The food was really excellent and authentic. We ate here twice in a one week visit so that speaks for itself, especially in a gourmet city like Budapest. Well worth a visit if you enjoy your food nice and spicy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good quality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Indian food is not really my favourite, so I won't judge the taste. What I can say is that everything seemed fresh (crispy veggies and fragrant, delicate cheese) and was nicely served.
Interiors were neat and clean, tastefully decorated - the place makes quite an elegant impression.
I cannot complain about the service either, but waiters could be a little bit more informative.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Yummy, yummy, yummy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The restaurant is nicely decorated in indian style, the owner and the chefs are from India, which is a guarantee for the authentic tastes.
Their garlic-butter naan must have been made in the Heaven...
The only minus is: the upper gallery can be warm in the summer.

Close to the perfect one!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Indian Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Indigo Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.