We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budapest Museum Central

Save Saved
You added Budapest Museum Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Budapest Museum Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muzeum korut 39, Budapest 1053, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the apartments for three nights in Budapest. Great location, the apartment was well equipped with TV, DVD, microwave, washing machine and lots of Ikea bits and pieces :). Love the jacuzzi bath, can't fault it for the price. Staff in the main hotel friendly and helpful. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the suites and very easy to find. Would defiantly recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    99
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
119
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I didn't choose this hotel by myself, I got help from my fiance' s sister who has visited Budapest before. So I didn't know anything what kind of place was waiting for us. But now, I'm forever grateful to my sister-in-law that she choosed just this little hotel for us!

Since I got help to book hotel (straight link to hotels.com where to book), I didn't ever visited in hotels' own web pages, which was a mistake: we had problems to find the place at first since we didn't realized that reception was inside the apartment house at second floor. This is however, very well described in web pages, where are also really straightforward instructions how to find a place and how to get in. Lessons learned: if you choose this hotel, remember to visit their web pages!

Hotel itself is very small, actually it is the smallest hotel I've ever visited. This means ofcourse, that you propably can't book a room there on short notice, but if you manage to get a room there, here is what you get:

- peaceful, cozy place where you can relax and sleep well after long day of of sightseeing
- all the basic things you actually need as traveller: shower, telephone, wired- and wireless internet access
- there is also free tea and coffee available 24/7 at the reception + plus water, soda and beer to buy if needed.
- there is also a small kitchen beside reception equipped with microwave, refrigerator, electric kettle. This was the actual life-saver for us, having a small baby-girl with us. We were able to store her food and milk there, heat it whenever we needed, wash feeding bottles properly etc. If you have small kids, you know how much this kind of thing matter...
- outstanding personnel!

Yes, the absolutely best part was the personnel: I didn't felt that I was a customer, I felt that I was a guest. As a Budapest first-timers, we asked lot of questions like: where to go, how to get there, where is nearest shop that is still open, where we can shop babyfood etc..
We got great tips which truly helped us a lot. What they didn't knew, they googled, and even once when we had quite tricky question about local baby-food, that receptionist didn't knew and couldn't find from google, she called her mother... :) So they are doing honestly everything humanly possible to make their guests visit in Budapest as easy, enjoyable and memorable.

We'll definitely stay there on our next visit to Budapest -If there are just rooms available.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a room that was a few minutes walk from the hotel. Finding the reception wasn't too much of a hassle, but we spent ages trying to find the actual room, and ended up having to go back to the reception to doublecheck. Not the best start, but overall it is a great place to stay. In fact for the price we paid it was amazing, we had a whirlpool bath, wifi, a kitchenette and breakfast delivered to our room each morning. The breakfast was basic but just what we needed to get us started for a day of site seeing. We would definately stay here again, it would be our first choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel with my friends and I need to say that it is really a very nice place. Hotel is small, but very cosy. Stuff was very friendly and helpful. the room was very clear and clean. i liked the design of the room. all facilities were working (air conditioner, bath equipment, tv etc), but we didn't have any mini-bar or fridge in our room, but we could use teapot, drink tea/coffee that was offered at the reception.
Also, it may be difficult for you to find he hotel itself, because there is no sign at the street. But it was not a problem for us to find it, we had an adress :)
I would return to this hotel once again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the suites of museum central. These suites are a 3 minute walk from the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay! The suite had all the facilities you need (refridgerator, cooking facilities, hairblower, whirlpool, wifi and even a washing machine). The staff is really friendly and helpfull.
The location is perfect, almost all attractions are on walking distance.
We really would recommend this hotel/ suites!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is very small - it only has 5 rooms! which means it is very personable, private, and relaxed. Owing to this it seems best suited for couples or small families.
The hotel is quite strict on noise level at night due to the fact it is part of a residential apartment block and the fact that its aim is towards a relaxed stay - so if you are going to Budapest for a stag or hen do then don't stay here.

The hotel is in a courtyard apartment block right opposite the museum, a very short walk from the underground station. The reception is manned 24 hours which makes it easy if you arrive at night. There are several doors to get into the building, all of which have buzzers linked to reception who can let you in. Once checked in you get keys for all the doors so it's easy to get in and out.

The room is fairly standard and spacious, the bed was very comfy, cupboard space, en-suite bathroom, TV, and a complementary bottle of Hungarian white wine on arrival which was a nice touch. The window in the room is double glazed (as well has having the original window on the outside) which helps keep out the noise from the main road outside. You can still hear a bit of noise come through when the windows are shut - but nothing which stopped us from sleeping well each night. There is air con in the room which is great for night time if you don't want the window open.

The hotel is in a perfect location - it is near Rudas street which is full of cheap restaurants, bars and pubs. In the opposite direction of this street is the centre of Budapest, again with lots of restaurants (but at a higher tourist price!).
The location of the hotel makes it easy to explore a lot of the city by foot and it is easy to navigate to and from. Nestled between the downtown ruin pubs, river, and the city centre, it is the perfect location.

The fact that this hotel is small and in a central location is a bonus. There seem to be lots of the the big name hotels in Budapest, however they are all very big and generally located very centrally - some amongst bars ect, so could be very busy and noisy!
If you want a quiet place to lay your head and have a more personal experience then head to this hotel.
Enjoy :)

-------------
On a side note: be careful of the public transport ticketing system. The various tickets they have on offer can be confusing and there are ticket inspectors at all train stations! We even saw a few get on the bus a stop before the airport - who then caught out tourists who had the wrong ticket!
The public transport system is very vast in Budapest which makes it great to get around - just make sure you have a ticket and validate it - otherwise you will get caught out and fined.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budapest Museum Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budapest Museum Central

Address: Muzeum korut 39, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Budapest
#56 Business Hotel in Budapest
#59 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budapest Museum Central 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Budapest Museum Central is located in the heart of historical center of Budapest directly across from the Hungarian National Museum and many of its rooms have spectacular views onto the Museum. Visitors cannot find a more central location: less than a 5 minute walk from the famous shopping area of Vaci Street and within walking distance from the worldwide famous Gellert Thermal Baths and the romantic Danube river embankment with an amazing view over Budapest Castle district. The rooms are newly renovated and all equipment and furniture are brand new. All rooms have work area with free Internet access, Sat TV, air conditioning and sound proof windows. The Studios have also Jacuzzi hydro massage and kitchen. Our English speaking staff is ready to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Budapest Museum Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Museum Central Hotel Budapest
Museum Central Hotel Budapest
Museum Central Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budapest Museum Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.