We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ket Szerecsen

Ket Szerecsen
Nagymezo u. 14, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)
+36 1 343 1984
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Description: Unique atmosphere in the middle of the city just by the stunning Andrássy Avenue. International and Mediterranean cuisine mixed with Hungarian style and Hungarian ingredients.Be our guest for breakfast,lunch and dinner or just for a cup of coffee. We are at your service with icy refreshers, nice wines and friendly ambiance.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

wonderful, pretty, nice, charming.Good service,good food, great price.And they also speak English. Gourmet food, ata great value and a nice staff. I really and strongly recomend it. _Just go and you will have a great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    246
    44
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere to match the food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My kind of atmosphere, very relaxed despite being very busy. Seated in a great spot and service was great throughout. Really enjoyed the food and would definitely drop by again if ever in Budapest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“The Best Food in Budapest!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I would honestly come back to Budapest just to eat here. The food was so good we had to come back again for dinner two nights in a row. I highly recomend the Ratatouillie, the flavours of this dish are unbelievable! The desert was also flawless, it was honestly Amazing food from start to finish and for what you get it is fantastic value for money. Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We dined at Ket Szerecsen on our first night in Budapest when we were still finding our way around.

The restaurant was within easy walking distance of our hotel and close to the Opera house.

I had the Duck dish from the Menu du Jour and my wife had the Butterfish followed by the Crème Brulee . The food was very good.
We shared a 500ml carafe of dry white wine which was in fact semi sweet similar to Vouvray so went well with the duck and the fish.
I made the mistake of trying the local brandy (very fierce). NOT something I would recommend!

The location is not ideal but the food makes it well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Exciting little restaurant with good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place is cozy for couple or for groups of friends. The waiters were friendly and the food looks and tastes good and the portions are reasonable so you don't walk away hungry ... except if you order the tapas as a main course. Our mistake we ordered a tapas place (ie the fish plate) thinking that would be dinner. Nope, too small, but too big for an entree so we were not really in the mood to order a whole main course each for a main. If you are not that hungry and just want a nibble for dinner or lunch then it might be a good option for you. Having said that the quality of the food was great so no complaints there, just inappropriately priced for the portion size given it is not a fine dining restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ket Szerecsen also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ket Szerecsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ket Szerecsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.