We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasta!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
West End Center, Vaci Ut, Budapest, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 1,586 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Budapest
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

What I liked the most, is the pasta, which "home made" they make it on their own pasta machine, well, it's worth the time and the money. I wasn't entirely back-and-forth from their sauce, but, and it's a big BUT, I compare it to my sisters, so... but they were very nice, I enjoyed my evening meal a lot with my friends - recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    107
    123
    49
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“perfect atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

i liked everything about vapiano, starting from service and finishing with food. I remember when I was there for the first time, the thing with the cards amazed be because it never happened to me before. I also liked the jelly bears that you can take away after paying.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“good choise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a nice self service, or fast italian place. you wait long in line, but the price good and the pasta fresh. $10 averege.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I actually went to Vapiano two days in a row. The first day I was in a hurry, saw the long lines for Pasta and decided to go for Pizza instead.

The pizza was good, made to order, enough extras and cheese and with a thin and crispy crust.

The next day I decided to return and chose the Con Carne Ravioli. I waited in line for 15 minutes till my turn arrived. I was asked which ingredients I want in the sauce and within minutes my dish was ready as orderrd. To my surprise it was INCREDIBLE. The raviolis were a bit too hard (I like it that way, but it was too much). The sauce however wad simply amazing.

Overall a great place and experience, cheap prices and friendly staff. English menu available,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fast, Flavorful and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We first encountered Vapiano in Tallinn, Estonia, and have since eaten at two of their Budapest locations -- this one and one in the MOM Park mall. Vapiano does pastas, salads and pizzas; we've sampled all of the above and found them all quite good. The pastas are especially fun, as they cook your dish to order right in front of you, and the prices are very reasonable. The settings are spacious and pleasant, and we've found them to be consistent in their execution.

The salads are uniformly good -- I'm partial to their Caesar -- and I prefer the pasta to their pizza, which features great crust, but is unexceptional otherwise. My personal favorite is their pasta carbonara, which is creamy and zesty.

It's more of a lunch and/or casual place -- no strolling violins or romance in the air, but the food is excellent for the price, and we always enjoy it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.