We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre food, poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Balettcipo

Balettcipo
Hajos utca 14, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #721 of 1,784 Restaurants in Budapest
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Food was all just blah. The server put 12% on the bill for tip which was OK. Then he did not bring us our change giving us the impression he was planning on keeping it as more tip. This is a decision that he should not make. When we asked for the change, he acted all irritated.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place let down by poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We came here during the summer and got a table outside. Staff paid no attention to that we arrived at first, only when two other tables had been filled with other guests, we got some attention. The complete lack of attention in terms of only bringing menus for two of the tables and us having to ask for it further put us off. Then when attending to take orders we had literally to go and get a waiter - and we decided to get someone else instead of the one who had our section and this was the right choice as service and attention improved a lot and probably showed the true face of the place.

Got the food and it was good (sirloin steak and catfish stew) and we enjoyed. Unfortunately the waiter we managed to get had to return to his own section and we got the bad one once again, and no improvement made - took ages to get menus for desert, to get the deserts, and to get the bill, and to get someone taking the payment - disaster is the proper wording for this waitress!

The place seems to be something the locals go to for a drink and a bite. They really have to select and train their staff to maintain their clients.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A real gem hiding near the opera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A lot of the restaurants near the opera are a bit pretentious. THis is a little gem of a place at 1065 Haljos Utca a block from the opera. Fixed price 3 course meals are 9.9 EUROS ( yes they take euros) Sylvester, one of the owners speaks English very well and is extremely accomodating. He even has great tips for what t odo and where to go while in Budapest.

THe place looks a bit like only a pub but serves very good food in the back and upstairs.

A lot of the dishes are flavored with paprika ( what else) but are not over whelmed by it.
We had chickin paprika, with home made "knuckle" noodles. Small noodlish things looking like knuckles, wiener shnitzle ( huge) and a Goulash soup, and for dessert, a brownie with ice cream - excellent flavors all around.

THey are very friendly to tourists, and are l a lucky find only a few doors down from our hotel.

The full name of this restaurant is
Balettcipo Eszpresszo

When in the area stop in. I assume because of the opera memorabilia tucked here and there he also serves the late night post opera crowd. I will check and update.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Balettcipo was easily my favorite restaurant in Budapest. Nice location and patio seating near the Opera. Excellent service and Hungarian goulash. Would definitely go back on my next visit!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best Burgers ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Small, busy at lunchtime used by locals. good price, good choice.Near the opera in a pedestrian street. friendly and hard working staff

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balettcipo also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Balettcipo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balettcipo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.