We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30year old classic Jewish eatery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kadar Etterem

Kadar Etterem
Klauzal ter, Budapest, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
Improve this listing
Ranked #383 of 1,783 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $15
Neighborhood: Erzsébetváros
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Erzsébetváros
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“30year old classic Jewish eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As a classic 'etkezde' eatery in Budapest, it is a must-visit place for everyone, who wants to feel the old Hungarian atmosphere. Even my parents had visited this restaurant 30 years before, and nothing has been changed here since then. The menu is written on a blackboard, and they simple erase what is finished for that day. The atmosphere the service and the guests are absolutely family like, including many-many old people having lunch there since the 70's, known by name by the staff. The food is great, with huge portions, and such classics, like barany-porkolt (lamb-stew), or fried liver, and of course Solet ( beans baked with smoked meat and eggs)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simple, classic but great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As a regular visitor to Budapest, I can't recommend this place enough. It has real old school charm and worth the status it seems to have been granted by locals and tourists alike.

The specials change regularly, but you're sure of some good hearty food whatever you have. On my last trip I had the duck liver (fried in breadcrumbs, really good) and my partner had an amazing trio of pork. Always washed down with the raspberry cordial and soda (malna). And even if you think you don't have room for dessert, try and find a little, my partner (Hungarian) testifies they are some of the best desserts around for miles!

The guy running the place speaks some English and will helpfully describe the menu to you if needed, so don't worry about not being understood, just go and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple but good lunch eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Simple, almost hidden lunch eatery located in the middle of the city. Waitresses and the boss is nice and kind. It is nothing special just good food friendly atmosphere. Prices are reasonable. Try a „húsleves”, a „pörkölt” or a „főzelék” and drink a „málna”. Thats all.
Careful: they do not speak English, but they are friendly and helpful so you will manage…
Do not go there if you want a fancy place. Also not recommended if you dislike „retro” feeling, as time stopped here about 30 years ago.

(Same as Kadar etkezde)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, delicious and no frills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our first night in Budapest and we wanted somewhere Hungarian, relatively unchallenging and not a tourist trap. This little restaurant came up trumps. The place is in a very quiet square and is only obvious by being the only proper cafe. But it is bright and clean, yet unsophisticated with bentwood tables and a jumble of styles; the menu is small, but varied and everything we tried was well cooked, tasty and plentiful. There were more locals than tourists eating and drinking, but the staff spoke English and were attentive, but never intrusive. If we eat as well as this every night we're here, we will be doing very well indeed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rustic Homecook Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

cheap eating place for authentic Hungarian food! Excellent wall deco with pictures of famous Hungarian actors, actress, artists but no politicians! try out their seasonal soup like the chilled cherry fruit soup or roast goose rice also gizzard! pudding is amazing! simply heaven! meal of starter, main and dessert would cost less than HUF2000! A MUST VISIT EATERY!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kadar Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kadar Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kadar Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.