We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Csalogany 26 Etterem

Csalogany 26 Etterem
Csalogany u. 26., Budapest 1015, Hungary (Várkerület)
+36 1 201 7892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Hungarian, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Várkerület
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant last Easter (2012) and we found the food was excellent, very good value and great service. We also had some excellent Hungarian wine but don't ask for any Unicom at the end of your meal or ask why they don't serve it!! I am suprised that the restaurant is not more highly rated by other reviews.

There were 6 of us in the group, two Hungarian, and we were all impressed. In fact we liked it so much we visited twice during our stay. On the second occassion the staff were particularly helpful as one of the group left his camera and passport in the taxi that delivered us. We did not even know the name of the taxi, but the staff phoned the hotel and located the taxi driver who returned the camera and refused to take a thank you tip!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    53
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Csalogány 26...Do not miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Small restaurant just outside the old town (less than 5 minutes walk), centrally located but far from the crowd.
Our tourist guide rated Csalogány 26 as one of the best restaurants in Budapest and... it is true!
Original and refined dishes, excellent service with multilingual waiters and careful attention to customers.
Available a lunch menu at an extremely convenient price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant with top quality food and outstanding service. A must for everybody with any interest in good food. We've been to many high quality restaurants and this is by far the best. Superb food hightenend by supreme wine pairings. Excellent!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than I thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the most exclusive restaurant, where I've ever been.
The staff is very kind and professional, with amazing skills and knowledge.
We were there just a few minutes ago, but they brought to us some champagne and appetizers.
The menu is perfectly composed and the wines complete it wonderfully.
We will visit this restaurant again, and I can recommend to everybody to try it, because really worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“promising but will have to come again ;)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Attentive staff but little too nervous to enjoy the atmosphere.
I had celery soup which smell promised a lot but too milky for my taste. Slowly prepared roasted pig texture's was well accompanied with sour cabbage but potato was underbaked.
To Walnut pie figue was added and this was the best plate.
Partner's see bass was incredibly good baked with a crispy color but the spicy zabaglione as desert didn't continue the with initial promise.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Csalogany 26 Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Csalogany 26 Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Csalogany 26 Etterem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.