We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and very good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klassz

Klassz
Andrassy ut. 41, Budapest 1061, Hungary (Andrássy út)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Andrássy út
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and very good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We liked the fact that Klassz doesn't take reservations, it meant we just turned up when we were free. Luckily we got a table straight away. The staff were very approachable and friendly, explaining the menu and wines in a polite and casual non-intimidating fashion. The food was Hungarian style and very large portions. This is a lovely restaurant, somewhere you can comfortably sit for a while without feeling rushed. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    279
    61
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ideal for the opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant is further up from the Opera house towards the Oktogon on the other side of the road. It is a gem. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The decor is very plush and welcoming. Choice from approximately half a dozen main courses and an extensive wine list. The food menu changes quite often so you are not stuck with the same choices. If you are a fan of pork try the Mangalika which has a depth of flavour lacking in most English pork. Great care goes into the soup. My wife had pumpkin and pear, a mixture that she had not thought would go together but it worked perfectly whilst I had the goulash soup. Both were served from copper saucepans at the table. The famous chocolate cake had all been taken by the time we got to the sweet course. But my disappointment was quickly allayed with a sour cherry creme brulee whilst my wife adored the plum strudel. We had a bottle of Kvassay Syrah red wine and the total cost for a sumptious meal was around £50

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We walked passed this place and decided on the spot that we would eat here. It was a good choice. Very good food and excellent wine. I definitely recommend this place if you want to have a very good dinner for very reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Immaculate setting, wonderful choice on the menu, excellent staff and the food was outstanding. We had 4 courses and a bottle of champagne for less then £90

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh my what mouthwateringly delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Klassz offers fantastic Hungarian fare with a creative twist. The foie gras was to die for and the traditional pork dish succulent and tender, every bit just melting in the mouth.
Great location on Andrassy Boulevard. White linen cloths yet relaxed atmosphere. Lovely room at the back with wines filling the walls. Totally recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klassz also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Klassz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klassz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.