We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabuouls Hole in the Wall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kadar etkezde

Kadar etkezde
Klauzal ter, Budapest 1072, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
+3613213622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 1,784 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Hungarian, Kosher, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Erzsébetváros
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Fabuouls Hole in the Wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

DO not miss this if your in the Jewish Quarter. It's jammed with locals and the waitresses don't speak English but the owner does. On Saturdays only they have the best cholent in the world. The matzo ball soup is something I will remember forever and I'm from NYC. It is inexpensive but truly an experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cantine-like enterier with excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We were here with my girlfriend. This restaurant is locatedin Klauzal squarre, in the old Jewish part of Budapest. The enterier helps you imagine the feeling of the Hungarian primary school cantines. While the food is fresh and tasty. You can find here the best Solet in the town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Homemade Hungarian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Amazing Hungarien homemade food small restaurant.
Real good and tasty homemade hungarien food.
Reminds me food from my childhood.
Family style
Price cheap

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“REAL PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It can be surprising at the beginning but we loved eating here. The man speaks little English, the woman does not. The menu is only in Hungarian so they boss translates by voice. The food is real hungarian food and really really nice. The worst: don't have alcohol! Only drinks: sparkling water and rosemary water...

Taste the strogonoff... ummm!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Hungarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I went to this restaurant adviced by a friend who studied in Budapest years ago. The placed is not really nice, I would not go for a first date. The stuff is friendly, even if the only one who speaks a little bit of English is the owner. The food is just great! Big portions as well. Everything is homemade, it really seams like being at somebody's house.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kadar etkezde also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kadar etkezde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kadar etkezde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.