We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, friendly restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi - Running Sushi and Wok Restaurant

Wasabi - Running Sushi and Wok Restaurant
Podmaniczky utca 21 | Szépvölgyi út 25, Budapest 1065, Hungary (Terézváros)
003613740008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,158 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Korean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stylish, friendly restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Very nice decor, great selection of food. Heard that place is great for sushi, but we don't like it, so didn't try. Unfortunate that the restaurant is underground, and has no windows, and the air conditioning couldn't really keep up with the heat produced in the open teppanaki kitchen. I had the Korean spicy fried rice, and my husband the fried noodles, both with chicken. Taste was good, however for me it was a bit too oily. Drinks are quite expensive. Service is very friendly. If you can eat a lot (which we could not, after a couple of constant restaurant visits in Budapest), it is probably worth sitting next to the food conveyor belt, where you can eat as much sushi and cooked food from the menu as you wish ( they come constantly on small plates). We might come back if during our next visit we'll feel the need for a change from traditional Hungarian cuisine, however we have a couple of other restaurants which are higher on the list than this one in case of a Budapest visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    41
    53
    25
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, and not a sushi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Avoid this restaurant. You will spend at least 6000 forints per person (20 euros - a high price for Budapest) for eating some undefinied oriental food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but fulfilling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you don't mind spending €30 for running sushi (not including your beverage), this is the place for you! It was a great experience but my friends didn't like the fact that it was so expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Too expensive for running sushi in Budapest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have visited many Sushi restaurant, also the running sushi restaurant in Budapest, but here I have to say it is a little bit expensive compared to the quality. You can be full here but I don't think it can be a high standard place you try sushi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the worst Asian restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I have been here one Friday night and to be honest at just 40 m ahead of closing...but the experience was really cheap (although prices are actually medium). Sushi was dry and probably filled only with surimi....sashimi looked one day old especially with prawn while salmon was fair. Soups without taste and Thai chicken tapas were dry, sugary and tasteless.
Moreover waiters we're looking forward to get rid of us and we're far from being kind...first smile required a tip!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi - Running Sushi and Wok Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Wasabi - Running Sushi and Wok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi - Running Sushi and Wok Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.