We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to eat on the Danube river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spoon Cafe & Lounge

Spoon Cafe & Lounge
Vigado Ter | Pier 3, Budapest 1052, Hungary
+36 1 411 0933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #379 of 1,987 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $6 - $56
Cuisines: International, European, Contemporary, Fusion, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Spoon as a restaurant boat is located in the central spot of Budapest-Hungary. This 75m engine less fine dining event and restaurant place is able to provide it's services in 365 days. From top it has two hugh terraces and an additional one with glass sided walls, the winter garden. On the middle level we have two different designed restaurants, we call them the "Cafe" wich is more like a real fine dining hall and the "Lounge", that is a luxury relax eating area. As an additional service we provide a night club in the bottom level, with direct access from the Lounge. It's design is about the arabican fantasy, it's called the "The Oriental". On each level we have a full kitchen, that makes the Spoon able to serve every type of event and customer in different timing and every season of the year. Our goal is to give high quality service to the corporate events, private parties and of course as the location the Sponn is right on the most wanted spot of Budapest, we are a must see restaurant.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely to eat on the Danube river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A very lovely place to eat but is a bit more expensive. Good service and I think we were lucky to get a table as most seemed to be reserved with a lot of business people meeting up.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    317
    138
    85
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Meal in the Spoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Last time i took my girlfriend to celebrate our annyversary. I wanted to make this event special. Where else? On the beautiful Danube of course :)
It wasnt the first time but they made it special with the excellent serving and the delicious meals we eat. I'd like to notice the very kind waiter job of Gabor Fazekas. Everytime i go there he is a true gentleman!
Thank you!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fancy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very good location by the river. Good food and the waiters were good and friendly. Can really recommend this place. Very nice view,of the castle from the mens room - try it :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Duped on the Danube!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I took my family to the Spoon Cafe in Budapest for a graduation dinner. The view was excellent, but we were packed into the place like a bunch of cattle in a car and the restaurant wasn't even full. The food arrived and it was fine, nothing worth the price we paid for it though. Also, I had purchased a $100 bottle of Tokjai which I, and members of my table, caught taking from our storage bucket of ice to other tables and filling glasses with. Highly unprofessional!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spend one night in The Spoon Cafe in Budapest. I was a very good choice, food was excellent, the service was professional and the view is just beautiful. Our waiter was Christian, he was really nice and helpful, he was excellent! The food was very good, it was a piano player too by the side. It was a really good choice, we'll defenitely back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon Cafe & Lounge also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Spoon Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spoon Cafe & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.