We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Kavehaz

Central Kavehaz
Karolyi Mihaly utca 9, V, Budapest 1053, Hungary
1-266-2110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #416 of 1,582 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Hungarian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cardiff
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Not as grand as Gerbaud but not as expensive either with the result that there are more locals and a correspondingly less artificial atmosphere. The service was very good and, although I was a little underwhelmed with the coffee and cake, that was the case almost everywhere I went (everything is too sweet for my taste). Maybe not worth a detour but stop by if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    111
    140
    40
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, so I really don't see a reason to whine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice place, good piano player, open space - ideal, we thought, for a small dinner as we had a big lunch. And so it was - comfy seating, very polite and nice waiters, really good Kaffeehaus food (stuffed pancakes, Letscho and the like), a nice cake to finish - and all that at prices that not to call reasonable I would need to make an effort I would not be up to right now. ;-) In other words, it was nice, good, and cheap. A clear recommendation, and something of a no-brainer. Oh yeah, one might say that it's more touristy than not, but not in a bad way, and you know, tourists are always the others... :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihály B, Manager at Central Kavehaz, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Sir!
Thank you for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed our coffees.

We hope to see you soon!

Best regards
Mihály Blaskó
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“GREAT cake.... grumpy staff.... but the cake is worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My partner and I came here twice during our stay to have coffee and cake.

The cakes were simply divine and, had we had longer in Budapest, and elasticated waistbands, I think we could have quite possibly ended up working our way through the entire collection!

There was a gentleman playing the piano when we visited on a sleepy Sunday afternoon, which was nice.

We found the staff to be pretty rude and quite miserable. If you are willing to ignore this, great, if not, get the cake to take-away!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien S, Director of Sales at Central Kavehaz, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Madam!

According to your letter I would like to thank you your review. Specially thanks for your opinion about the service. We work hard to lift the standard up every day and this kind of opinions are very important for us.

We hope to see you soon!

Faithfully yours
Sebastien Samicskov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Their capuccino was fantastic and together with the fresh squeezed orange juice this place made my day :) Great cakes as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien S, Director of Sales at Central Kavehaz, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sir!
Thank you for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed our coffees. I would like to thanks your opinion about the cakes and orange juice.

We hope to see you soon!

Best regards
Sebastien Samicskov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Traditional place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely and airy/old world like Cafe Central in Vienna which we had greatly enjoyed.Happened upon it for coffee/cakes in afternoon and came back for dinner. Very quiet as was January mid week so lacked atmosphere a bit because of that but waiter was very friendly and helpful regarding the history of the building and menu choices. Food very good and nice cakes/desserts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien S, Director of Sales at Central Kavehaz, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Madam!

I would prefer to thank you for your review and your nice words.

We hope to see you soon again!

Faithfully yours
Sebastien Samicskov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Kavehaz also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Central Kavehaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Kavehaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.