We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, but lacking in atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carne di Hall

Carne di Hall
Bem rakpart 20., Budapest 1011, Hungary (Várkerület)
+36 30 446 9004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,667 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Várkerület
Description: The American literature author John Steinbeck was told by his professor that he would be an author when pigs flew. When he eventually became a novelist, he started to print every book he wrote with the insignia: ‚Ad astra per alia porci“ (to the stars on the wings of a pig) to encourage his readers never to give up believing that nothing is impossible.We believe: in dreams and in the love of gastronomy there are no impossibilities! Enjoy our unique and innovative selection of delicious Hungarian fusion food only from the freshest and finest local ingredients! Taste our carefully selected Hungarian wines from award-winning cellars!
Durham, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Food good, but lacking in atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to this restaurant in late January. The food was very good throughout and prices were reasonable. It seems well designed and the staff were attentive and helpful. The only problem was that there were not many diners midweek and it did feel a little as if the staff didnt have anything to do for much of the time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    124
    39
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Big portions, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Good exciting food, great service. Good size portions, and nice wines. Excellent value for money. The gastronomical attention to detail ensured a fine dinner, at a really reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I had the Rose Duck Brest and I found it excellent,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant in mid November after it was recommend by our hotel. Very quiet but it was midweek and cold and wet. Inside was warm and the staff welcoming. The service was prompt and friendly. When our orders arrived we found the food to be excellent. Well worth the price. We went back the next night and were not disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
637 reviews 637 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Like many others here, my wife and I are well-traveled - in the last two years we've done half a dozen countries or more on 3 continents. Carne di Hall is high on our list of restaurants. They have friendly, high quality service, excellent food, and a cosy, whimsical dining room. They also are in a great location, on the Buda side of the Danube with a view of the iconic Parliament Building.

We attended a folk dance concert nearby at the Hungarian Heritage House on our first night in Budapest, so we made a reservation for dinner at Carne di Hall. Tomas, the head waiter, was very friendly, and helped us with the menu. He was particularly helpful for me, because I am dairy-allergic and wanted to make sure what I ordered would be safe. After telling him that I was interested in having duck breast, he spoke with the chef who came up with the most amazing duck breast dish I've ever tasted - with strawberries, roasted potatoes and the most intriguing sweet relish.

We elected to just have a soft drink (really wonderful fresh lemonade) with our dinner, but afterward Tomas convinced us to have a glass of the typical Hungarian dessert wine, Tokaji Aszu. Wow. The trip concluded with them calling us a taxi which was guaranteed to be reasonably priced, not taking advantage of us as tourists as many taxis do.

We were so pleased with our first dinner there, that we went back again later in the week. Tomas greeted us as if we were now old friends. It was a very hot day, so we sat outside, started off with some cold Hungarian beer and this time I had a boneless Mangalitsa pork chop. Wow, once again. Just as marvelous an experience as the first time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've initially visited Carne di Hall because of the flying pigs, my friend is the biggest pig-fan, but what we found was the BEST FOOD WE'VE EVER HAD! Both of us have seen a lot in this life, many countries, many places, many kitchen, but this restaurant definitely tops them all!
The chef is experimenting with all sorts of tastes, forms, and each dish is a work of art.
We'll definitely be regulars there.

A 100% must have if you're in town!
(Advance reservation might be useful but you can get lucky.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne di Hall also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Carne di Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carne di Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.