We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek next to the Danube!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Dionysos

Taverna Dionysos
Belgrad rakpart 16 | Belvaros-Lipotvaros, Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36(1)3181222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,867 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: Dionysos moved to the Pest bank of the River Danube on New Year's Eve 1993 and has since delighted the dwellers of our city with delicacies of Greek cuisine and delicious wine of its vineyards.The air is filled with the fragrance of char-grilled meats and fishes, fresh-cut vegetables and crispy-baked homestyle bread. Thanks to the friendly atmosphere, diners chit-chat casually around the tables, which blends pleasantly into the melodies of Greek music playing in the background.It is good to be in this restaurant. The pampering feeling of authentic entertainment accompanies the guests from the moment they enter up until they leave. We hope you visit us soon so that we may entertain you for a few hours here in little Greece of Budapest!
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Greek next to the Danube!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a Good restaurant with excellent and friendly service. Typical Greek meals of good quality are available. The service is fast, even a bit too rapid. The restaurant is very clean too. Wines are good and served correctly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    332
    71
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“EXCELENT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have to say that I came twice during the 3 days I was in Budapest. The food is excelent, the waiters are very kind and they explain you all the doubts that you have. After eating they offer you some fresh fruit and for the ladies, they give you a rose when you leave the restaurant.
In reference to the food, they have a vary menu. The first day we ate gyros and fish and both of them was georgeous. The second day we ate a bruchette and some lamb and was excelent too. Furthermore, the structure of the restaurant is incredible, it looks like if you were in a house in the middle of Athens.
I hardly recommend to visit this place if you are a lover of the good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food and a charming ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Dionysus is a lovely little place which we visit regularly. Reservation is easy and a quick phone call (if the person answering the phone doesn't speak English they quickly and politely find someone who does) and the restaurant is busy, but not too overwhelming.

Service is spot on; well presented and pleasant waiting staff who are just the right blend of attentive and laissez-faire, food arrived correctly and in good time.

The food was delicious; we had a selection of the starters and I had a Gyros to bulk things out a bit. It was affordable but didn't taste cheap; everything was presented well and was fresh and tasty. Importantly with mezze-style starters, there was a lot of difference between the dishes - it didn't feel like any corners were cut with crossover. For those with heavier wallets, towards the bottom of the seafood menu it starts to get a bit 'whoa, how much?!' - but that's hardly surprising in a landlocked country I suppose. The range on the menu is fantastic, mind.

The atmosphere and decor is delightful, it's all white chairs, washed stone and bubbly conversation. I've never actually been to Greece, but in my head I imagine that this is what it'd be like.

Only possible minor criticism? Our white wine could've been a bit colder, but that's really splitting hairs. Thoroughly recommended for a great eat out in Budapest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We ate at Taverna Dionysos our first night in Budapest. I read the map wrong and went totally off in the wrong direction, but eventually we found a cab to take us there. It is a fun, busy and lively place. The staff was very friendly and the food excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Want to taste excellent Greek food in Budapest?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Don't look any further: Taverna Dionysos is it. Menu with pages & pages of delicious dishes, interestingly priced but good quality wines. Unfortunately service was a bit slow and the waiter servicing our part of the restaurant managed to systematically bring the dishes to the wrong tables. One could argument in their defence that we were there on a Saturday around 8 PM and it was a full house, which means a small army has to be fed because they have a lot of tables, but that's not really an excuse is it.
But it shouldn't spoil the fun, they manage to get it right in the end and it's well worth the wait. Try the PIATELA DIONYSOU for two (a selection of grilled cured pork on the spit, spare rib, chicken leg,cured chicken breast on the spit, greek hamgurger and gyros with mixed side dishes...) but do bring a BIG appetite :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Dionysos also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Taverna Dionysos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Dionysos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.