We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Dionysos

Taverna Dionysos
Belgrad rakpart 16 | Belvaros-Lipotvaros, Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36(1)3181222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $5 - $54
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: Dionysos moved to the Pest bank of the River Danube on New Year's Eve 1993 and has since delighted the dwellers of our city with delicacies of Greek cuisine and delicious wine of its vineyards.The air is filled with the fragrance of char-grilled meats and fishes, fresh-cut vegetables and crispy-baked homestyle bread. Thanks to the friendly atmosphere, diners chit-chat casually around the tables, which blends pleasantly into the melodies of Greek music playing in the background.It is good to be in this restaurant. The pampering feeling of authentic entertainment accompanies the guests from the moment they enter up until they leave. We hope you visit us soon so that we may entertain you for a few hours here in little Greece of Budapest!
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Service was laid back in a good way, the staff were charming and the food was amazing! Veal was the best I've ever had, the wine was delicious and I was lucky enough to finish off other halfs pork medallions stuffed with feta ! Both had starters and yet the bill still came in under 15000. We were happy to leave a generous tip, they really deserved it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    301
    63
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Greek welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Top notch restaurant with a very warm welcome. Menu choice was very large. Premises very clean. The place gets very busy so best to book. And once you have been you'll understand why it is so popular.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Huge menu with great choices. Food was tasty and I would definitely go back for the Ouzo drinks alone :) The restaurant gave off a great Greek feel and our waiter was super friendly. The service was a bit slow, but don't let that deter you from eating here; just set aside a little more time for dinner than you'd usually plan for. Left the restaurant delightfully satisfied (and with a flower given to me by the waiter! )

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend had a lovely meal here! The food was excellent and staff were also very good! The place is very nicely decorated too. The only poor thing in our opinion was the desserts. Not as good as the rest of the meal which was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Amazing food and fabulous service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Having walked all over the city, we were tired, cold and very hungry.
Decided to visit this taverna on the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed at all. Leaving after with big smiles and full tummies!!
Lovely warm welcome - food was delicious and plentiful. Service and attention to detail were remarkable.
I would highly recommend putting this restaurant on your list of places to visit for food- you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Dionysos also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Taverna Dionysos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Dionysos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.