We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Dionysos

Taverna Dionysos
Belgrad rakpart 16 | Belvaros-Lipotvaros, Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36(1)3181222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,667 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $5 - $54
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: Dionysos moved to the Pest bank of the River Danube on New Year's Eve 1993 and has since delighted the dwellers of our city with delicacies of Greek cuisine and delicious wine of its vineyards.The air is filled with the fragrance of char-grilled meats and fishes, fresh-cut vegetables and crispy-baked homestyle bread. Thanks to the friendly atmosphere, diners chit-chat casually around the tables, which blends pleasantly into the melodies of Greek music playing in the background.It is good to be in this restaurant. The pampering feeling of authentic entertainment accompanies the guests from the moment they enter up until they leave. We hope you visit us soon so that we may entertain you for a few hours here in little Greece of Budapest!
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have just returned from a trip to Budapest and absolutely had to write about this place. We dined here on Saturday night - the restaurant was busy and had a great atmosphere. Both the service and food were excellent, and the complimentary dessert and flower for the ladies at the end of the meal just added to the experience. I can't recommend his place highly enough - a definite highlight of our stay in Budapest.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    276
    58
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Food is delicious and plentiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This taverna is bright, cheerful and clean. The waiters were friendly and helpful in making food choices. They brought us a complimentary fish starter whilst our own selections were being prepared. The food was excellent and the portions were on the large side! After a starter and main, we were both too full for dessert. However we were served with a complimentary custard dessert which my husband managed anyway! He was particularly impressed with the Gentlemen's washroom. He said he has never been in a restaurant washroom where there are razors, shaving foam and aftershave!!!
This is great value for money and I would recommend it for food and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belaballo, Guest Relations Manager at Taverna Dionysos, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear judithWirral,

Thank your for writing a review and sharing all your experiences with the TripAdvisor community in a such detailed manner.

It's good to know that our guests actually appreciate all the complimentary dishes and the well-equipped restrooms.

Thanks for the recommendation, we hope that we can welcome you again as soon as possbile!

Best regards,
The Dionysos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Budapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Enjoyed a really good meal here during our stay in Budapest. Service was excellent and food was well cooked and plentiful. Lots of nice touches, such as complimentary bread and dips to start and a complimentary fresh fruit platter at the end of the meal. Our waiter was also very knowledgeable of gluten free dishes which I found to be a real positive and made the dining experience much more enjoyable for me having an intolerance to gluten. Atmosphere in the restaurant was welcoming and relaxed and toilets were excellent, absolutely spotless again with lots of nice little touches. Overall, we really enjoyed our evening here, and can't really fault this restaurant. The only thing I would say, is that the food is not 100% typically Greek, but very near to it. A welcome change from Hungarian food and very good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belaballo, Guest Relations Manager at Taverna Dionysos, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear xlynnbx,

Thank you very much for writing a review and for sharing your experiences.

We are happy to read that we were able to satisfy your specific, "gluten-free" needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
The Dionysos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a superb Sunday lunch at Dionysos. We have ordered plates to share (the two person plates were more than enough for three).
Very important: try not to be completely full before the desert :-) because they are very delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belaballo, Guest Relations Manager at Taverna Dionysos, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear ejenet,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

Also thanks for the advice in the name of our future guests and for the compliment on our desserts.

We will be happy to welcome you again anytime soon!

Best regards,
The Dionysos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It's not just gyros :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wanted to eat greek food and decided to visit this restaurant after many years again. 3 persons couldn't finish a mixed appetizer plate and the meat plate for two. It was not just delicious but also a lot. The staff was friendly and we didn't regret relying on the recommendations. We will definitely come back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belaballo, Guest Relations Manager at Taverna Dionysos, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear gyorigabor,

Thank you for writing a review and for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor Community!

We are very proud about our portions and it's good to know that we aren't wrong about this.

You are more than welcome to come and visit us any time!

Best regards,
The Dionysos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Dionysos also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Taverna Dionysos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Dionysos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.