We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty I would recommended to anyone who loves quality food , the atmosphere is one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Dionysos

Taverna Dionysos
Belgrad rakpart 16 | Belvaros-Lipotvaros, Budapest H-1056, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
+36(1)3181222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,586 restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $5 - $54
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Description: Dionysos moved to the Pest bank of the River Danube on New Year's Eve 1993 and has since delighted the dwellers of our city with delicacies of Greek cuisine and delicious wine of its vineyards.The air is filled with the fragrance of char-grilled meats and fishes, fresh-cut vegetables and crispy-baked homestyle bread. Thanks to the friendly atmosphere, diners chit-chat casually around the tables, which blends pleasantly into the melodies of Greek music playing in the background.It is good to be in this restaurant. The pampering feeling of authentic entertainment accompanies the guests from the moment they enter up until they leave. We hope you visit us soon so that we may entertain you for a few hours here in little Greece of Budapest!
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very tasty I would recommended to anyone who loves quality food , the atmosphere is one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Very tasty I would recommended to anyone who loves quality food , the atmosphere is one of the best ..don't miss it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    612
    260
    55
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really liked our dinner, it was a little on the expensive side. We had grilled prawns and garden salad. The lime juice drink was nice. So was the fresh mint drink.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Greek Restaurant Overlooking The Danube”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Taverna Dionysos is located about 5 minutes walk from the liberty bridge.
There is small outside seating area, but this seems to be very popular so book in advance if you fancy easting alfresco. I turned up about 6.30 pm and had to sit inside, but there was plenty of space at that time.
The decor is themed to give the impression of a traditional Greek building like you might find on any one of the islands, which adds to the ambience.
The service is excellent, from seating you promptly to taking your orders.
The food was nicely presented, of decent proportion, and most importantly -delicious !
By the time I left at 8pm the restaurant was extremely busy, so depending on when you want to eat you may wish to either turn up early or book ahead if you plan to eat later.
I had a starter, bread, main course, a couple of bottles of water, and a coffee and the price was 5200 HUF, which is cheap compared to many of the restaurants catering for tourists across the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A greek good restaurant but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

It is a good greek restaurant but it is not one of the best restaurants you can find in Budapest. A little bit overpriced

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went for a lunch on hot day. Enjoyed excellent service, and one of the best salads I've ever had (our table ordered 2 salads, and both were amazing). No doubts the other food would be just as good.

Can see why they're rated highly on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Dionysos also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Taverna Dionysos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Dionysos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.