We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant with nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rezkakas Bistro

Rezkakas Bistro
V. kerulet, Sas u. 3., Budapest 1051, Hungary (Formerly Rezkakas) (Belváros-Lipótváros)
1 318-0038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European, Bistro, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We dined with 4 friends and all commented on the great service and friendly staff. Good attention to detail, all three courses were well presented and tasty food. Wine was reasonably priced and overall the meal with service came to the equivalent of around £40+ per person which is no different from a reasonable restaurant in UK. The atmoshere is good, music playing with solid musician who certainly appeared to enjoy their music. Overall a good experience and would recommend. Best to book in advance as they were full when we left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    179
    62
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Depressing Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The talented trio playing gypsy music made this almost a dinner theatre experience, which was fortunate because beyond the music we found Rezkakas to be pretentious, phony, and irritating. We asked for the wine list, waited, asked again, and realized they had only one or two lists for the whole restaurant. The reason for this became clear when the wine steward, rather than letting us look through the list and order as we liked, tried to talk us into some outrageously priced glasses. Shortly thereafter they sat a duo next to us who were quite obviously a prostitute and a john who before long could be overheard discussing prices and services. This was presumably a case of simple bad luck, but overall we found the service to be unfriendly and the meal to be overpriced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsoe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hungarian food and music without the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming and friendly, this restaurant ticked all the boxes. Six of us went there on a Saturday evening in search of a 'typical' Hungarian evening without the coach parties and hype. We were not disappointed. Staff are friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing and the environment is stylish but relaxed. The menu offered new twists on traditional dishes and some good vegetarian options. (I was told the chef would cook me something else if I didn't like the veggie meals on the menus). The icing on this very good Hungarian cake was Robert and his fellow musicians who played gypsy music as was the perfect background to a very special meal. At about £40 a head including wine, we felt Prices were what you would expect to pay for a good restaurant in England.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Small bistro with very tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We ate an early dinner here before taking a night train. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent. Traditional with a international twist. They also had a good wine selection. All three of us enjoyed our dinner. The service was prompt and the price was reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice restaurant, very easy to find in Sas utça. Good hungarian food and wine. Hungarian gypsy music with violin. I advise you to make a reservation because it's a very popular place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rezkakas Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rezkakas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rezkakas Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.