We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pomo D'Oro

Pomo D'Oro
9 Arany, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
(1) 302 6473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,993 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant based on TripAdvisor recommendations. Had such a good experience on our first visit that we decided to return. Made a reservation and observed them writing our name in the open reservation position. When we arrived at our reserved time, we could see our reservation had been scratched out and rewritten at the bottom of the page. We were given a terrible table in the back of the restaurant with children running back and forth, and worst, crates were being carried past our table to the kitchen by restaurant personnel as we were being served and eating. It was almost like we were sitting in a back storage area. To add insult to injury, when we mentioned our displeasure to the person who said he was the manager, he did not even bother to act like he was concerned. He was too busy to care. We do not normally complain even when we receive poor service, but visitors need to be alerted to such bad behaviors. Tourists beware! This restaurant may be overrated!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    260
    75
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb Service and First Class Employees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had tried to book this Restaurant on the Friday evening but it was fully booked which is always a good sign.
Visited this Restaurant on Saturday evening 28th September 2013 with friends after reading reviews.

This restaurant is only one block from our hotel Grand Iberostar.

The ambiance and decor of the place is superb and the selection on the menues is amazing.

This is the first time that when i have been asked what i would like we would like to drink we were informed by the Somalier if we wanted wine we should wait until we have chosen what we want to eat and then he would recommend what wine we should order. Truly amazing and it works.
The staff and the service are truly a class act and although maybe a little bit more expensive than other places worth every Forint

To conclude the Management who operate this establishment should be proud of their Restaurant and also the staff they employ for both frindliness to customers and knowledge of the food they offer and serve.

Well done Pomo D'Ora and i have no hesitiation in recommending your restaurant to others who may be visiting Budapest in the near future.

Stewart Davis / Friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reasonably Decent Food, So-So Atmostphere, Lousy Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The restaurant is crowded/popular although I am not sure why. That actually detracts from the ambience. It's not a quiet relaxed place for dinner. And the food is not as good as the TripAdvisor hype. It's only so-so. We had better dinners everywhere else we ate in Budapest.

Pizza: below average. Salad: good. Pasta: better than average but nothing to write home about. Ambience: packed in a back room of a noisy restaurant that fills up and turns away walk-in business.

Service: lousy.

It took 20+ minutes to order. Wine list never came after requested. After half an hour, we wandered up from the back room to the bar to get a glass of wine. The dishes weren't timed to arrive together. One party sat without food (or apology) for quite awhile.

The weird part was that they weren't that busy. There were a couple large tables reserved for parties who were coming in. But they weren't there yet. Plenty of staff walking by our table all the time. But no service.

A manager stopped by at the end of our meal (after an hour of bad service) all smiles and asked with gusto "How was everything?!" Rather than managing the restaurant and helping his employees deliver service, he seemed to think his job was more akin to a department store Santa Claus, going around spreading good cheer. We said, "Not that great." He offered us a free drink, but we just wanted to get out of there and end a bad dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding service - Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Six of us and a baby had a birthday dinner in the restaurant. Not the first time here as we are always so happy with food and service that kerp coming back. Staff is very helpful, knowligable. Food is always fantastic, no matter what we're having. Rosé Tuna is a must. I know it's not Hungarian but this is a must visit place if you're in Budapest!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Been on several occasions and always left happy. Great food, great atmosphere, good service. Only downside is, the waiters will always try and upsell, but it wouldn't stop me going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomo D'Oro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pomo D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomo D'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.