We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good italian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomo D'Oro

Pomo D'Oro
9 Arany, Budapest 1051, Hungary
(1) 302 6473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
High Wycombe
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went here as close to the hotel (Intercontinental) and good reviews on tripadvisor. Note there is a restaurant and a shop, we went in the shop first (by mistake) the restaurant is the one on the left!!! Although the restaurant seemed quiet, initially they were hesitant about accommodating us (I guess you are supposed to make a reservation) but a table was found in an empty part of the restaurant. We restaurant did start to get busier around 8pm though. We had pizza which was really good and they let us sample the salami before it went on the pizza so to be sure it wasn't too spicy. They also recommend a good bottle of wine (Hungarian Rizling). Prices seemed reasonable and bill came to just over 10000 HUF. Service was good and waiters understood English well. Would recommend and eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    238
    67
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“the best fish soup I ever have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After some typical Hungarian cousin we decided to choose lighter cousin and a choice was Italian and Pomo D'Oro. The choice was excellent as I tasted the best fish soup I ever have in Brindisi Style. When I finish a soup I even consider to cancel main dish and take another soup. Finally for the main I ate Ravioli which was also excellent. The service in the restaurant is very friendly, helpful and experienced. Location is also very good between the Parliament and Chain Bridge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
1 review
“Excellent italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

High quality italian food with great service and nice atmosphere. There seemed to be lots of locals eating there too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average food but not too pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We ended up here as the restaurant we wanted to visit was fully booked.

The interior of the restaurant was lovely. The food was fine but nothing special. The portions were very small so I would recommend getting three courses. The dessert was nice but the plate it was served on was too large.

Service was slow. We were waiting nearly 30 minutes for our meal.

We paid around 30 euros for two pasta dishes, a dessert, a coke and a large beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An Italian oasis in the middle of Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice. Good food, good and fast service, great atmosphere and decor. The pizza is particularly delicious and they have a wide variety of choices. Beware: 10% tip is added to the bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomo D'Oro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pomo D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomo D'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.