We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a hearty meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomo D'Oro

Pomo D'Oro
9 Arany, Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
(1) 302 6473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 1,984 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
uk
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good for a hearty meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I love this place. The atmosphere is great wherever you are sat although possibly better if you can see into the kitchen through the big windows. Food is very good and lots of it and there is plently of choice for the vegetarian. Wine is also good value...reccommend the hungarian wines.

I would say that this is not the place to come for a light lunch neccesarily...the salad for example is a small portion without dressing but you are paying as much as some of the mains for it...they would be better off reducing the price and sticking it in the 'sides' part of the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    257
    74
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had authentic Italian fare at Pomo d'Oro and thoroughly enjoyed the food, wine, service and atmosphere. I had calamari risotto in ink sauce which is easy to mess up, but this was a good version and brought back nice memories of dinners in Italy... There are clearly Italians involved in the kitchen and in the management since there are too many details which are authentic and would otherwise be overlooked by less-experienced staff. We will be back on our next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lost glory, listless food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

went here based on word-of-mouth: the location is great, the place has made a name for itself, the chef is on TV...and complacency has entered the building too (as i discovered).the staff are real nice though. but i had a feeling the place was overstaffed with some waiters doing nothing but scoot around.

started with the minestrone which was a bit on the dull side with an overdose of celery. my main course of pizza had about 1cm thick slices of eggplant on them - never seen anything like this before!! taste and flavorwise, it was dry and one-dimensional. i've had better pizza at the döner place round the corner. i wasn't even reminded of italy remotely. i must say the dessert order of tiramisu was quite light and fluffy though - a few brownie points there for hitting my sweet tooth!

overall, it's not worth the hype. it does not reflect in the food - i'd rather goto Vapiano and score value for money, taste & flavor all at one go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Viva la DOP pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The dop pizza is amazing with bufala mozarella. The waiters are super nice and they speak italian. The place is aparently owned by a tv personality. Make sure to book well ahead cause the place is always full!
We also love the penne vodka

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sent to the wrong part of the restaurant :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our first night in Budapest, arriving just at dinner time on Friday night. We chose this restaurant based on the many good reviews here and in some guide books. When we arrived we were ushered upstairs - apparently to the bistro with the very limited menu (but not realizing this until we left and re-read the reviews). When we saw the limited menu - no pasta and none of the beautiful dishes written about here, we asked our server about other dining options. He told us they had only what was on the (again, very limited) menu, with no further explanation. We had a pleasant meal of salad and pizza. Nothing to rave about. We still do not know why we were not given the option for the clearly better dining options and are disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomo D'Oro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Pomo D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomo D'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.