We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, good location, so-so staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Okay Italia

Okay Italia
Szt. Istvan krt. 20, Budapest, Hungary
+36 1 349 2991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nyiregyhaza, Hungary
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good location, so-so staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have been to the Okay Italia restaurant in Budapest several times, as it is sadly the only thing really available, reasonable in price and open when I'm in town. I have been to this location the most, and once to its neighbor.

The food is really outstanding for Italian cusine abroad, but the wait staff has never been the best (staying true to Hungarian hospitality form). Don't expect any smiles when you walk in the door, and I don't recommend tipping unless they went above and beyond their call of duty, which they very rarely do. They would prefer not to answer questions, re-do any mistakes they may have made in the kitchen and would rather tell you you're wrong.

That having been said, I can understand why someone would ask, "Then why do you keep going back?" Well, because the food is really delicious, the prices for big city Budapest are not altogether bad, and it's usually close to where I'm staying when I'm there. The staff isn't all bad, but some bad waitresses do come to mind from the several experiences I've had there.

The atmosphere is nice enough, although nothing special. They do have their menus in all three languages: Hungarian, English and Italian. It's a very LARGE menu, almost too heavy to pick up in one hand. There must be about thirty pages in that thing, full of appetizers, wines, beers, pastas, entrees among other things. You will pay roughly between 10-23 euros, depending on what you order, and I would recommend staying away from appetizers, as they are highly over priced and come in very small portions.

All in all the food is worth going and the only reason I would rate the place as simply average, is because the staff and the ambiance do not do enough to merit more than that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    85
    40
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spoiled by one member of staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Six of us on a weekend break ate here on our last night in Budapest. The food was excellent, portions were generous and the prices were extremely reasonable. Most of the staff were very pleasant and efficient. Our evening was somewhat spoiled when a fight broke out between guests at a neighbouring table. The restaurant staff didn't seem to want to do anything about it - perhaps this is a common occurrence, but it was a bit off- putting for us. There was also one waiter who had a real attitude problem from the minute we arrived. He made a mistake with our order and was quite offensive and arrogant when we mentioned this to him. Seemed to want to argue about it rather than just fix the order. However, one of the waitresses apologised and sorted it out and gave us a complimentary drink. She tried hard to save the day, but the guy then ignored us the rest of the evening and offed no apology. Obviously the customer isn't always right in his book!
An otherwise nice place spoiled by this one waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Wonderful Neighborhood Italian near Budapest Train Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were on a tour and 5 of us went here on recommendation of the hotel NH concierge-we were very happy as a result. The food seemed authentic, well prepared and presented, the staff were very warm and welcoming and were delightful with practicing their English skills on we visitors. We left quite contented and the price was right-about $15/person with beer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I like the tastes there. I like to eat something there, because I live in the near. Not a special area, not a special building or place, but the food is very-very good, the service is perfect.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The Pearl in Arkad Shopping Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

...yes, you heard it, this small restaurant is in a shopping center, we were hungry and instead of going to the food court, which resembles a herd of animals feeding, we chose this restaurant and wow were we surprised!

Absolutely spectacular food, great portions and reasonably prices, the service is right on the money.

If you find yourself in Arkad shopping center, it is a must visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okay Italia also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Okay Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okay Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.