We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Negro - CLOSED

Negro
11 Szt Istvan Ter, V, Budapest, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
(1) 302 0136
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We needed a place to eat prior to going into St Stephens. There were several bars/cafes on the square close to the church. My guess is this place is probably known more for its bar scene than for its food. The menu was very "intercontinental" with quesadillas, hamburger sliders, Cesar salads, and pasta; not the typical fare in most restaurants in BUdapest. My daughter was in the mood for french fries and as they served them, so we decided to give it a try. My pasta was simple and fine, but everyone else was disappointed in their meal. We established the rule: "Do not order quesadillas in Budapest"! after dining here. It is not one of the more difficult Mexican dishes so we thought it would be safe. Tortillas and cheese. But they used gruyere cheese! Ack! The service was slow, but kind. Our waitress seemed to know that the food really wasn't that good. It is a great location, and probably a fine option for drinks, but skip the food! Over an 18 day trip, the whole family agreed that this was our least favorite meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    7
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

You may stop here because its rigjht on the square in front of St. Stephen's basilica, but you'll come back because the drinks are fantastic! Great selection of rum drinks, just perfect for a warm evening looking out across the square. Lot's of non-alcoholic choices and really tasty small plates too. Bring friends, you'll have a blast!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lazy service in a tourist spot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Pros: Nice location on the square, could be good for a drink in the sun
Cons: Lazy, uninterested service, food wasn't great, touristy, more expensive than many better Budapest bars

After reading lots of bouncey, pleasant reviews on TripAdvisor, Negro Bar sounded like it was worth a visit on a recent weekend away.
Sadly it's really not all that. Sure the location is lovely and with the sun shining supping that drink outside is a great experience with friends...
But the service was just lazy, uninspired and unwanted. Coconut and pineapple daiquiris were both on the menu. Could we get a coconut and pineapple daiquiri? Absolutely not.
Not a single smile, thank you - in fact barely a word uttered from our woefully uninterested waitress. A neighbouring American couple asked a few questions and tried to spark up a conversation but were quickly shut down with yes/no answers. It just didn't have any atmosphere or spark.
We ordered some chips and dips but most of the chips were smashed to bits which made it tricky to eat. Nice guacamole though.
And all this at a raised price compared to what else you can find in Budapest. It's a wonderful city with great bars and restaurants at very, very reasonable prices. But this place doesn't fall into that category. In fact it was the worst bar we visited... and we visited a lot!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great locatio, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The lonelyplanet gave this eatery / bar great reviews, this centrally located bar located in the town square looking on to the amazing St. Stephen's Basilica. The food is good if you go Mediterranean but lacks when you opt for a traditional Hungarian meal, there’s a lot better choice in neighbouring bistros for goulash, but for location and vibe at the weekend this is the place to be if you want to get merry.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a great little place, right on St. Stephen's square. The cocktails are fantastic and the small plates are very good too. Sit outside on a warm night and enjoy!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.