We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Season��” 3 of 5 stars
Review of KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar

KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar
Szechenyi Istvan ter 5-6., Budapest 1051, Hungary (District V / Inner City)
3612685184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,989 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $33
Cuisines: European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Vibrant and inspiring, yet casual and affordable, KOLLÁZS - Brasserie & Bar is a contemporary European brasserie in a landmark Budapest location, overlooking the Chain Bridge and the Danube River. The Hungarian word for "collage," KOLLÁZS highlights creative combinations in all aspects of the dining experience. The interior design reflects the artistic era of the 1910s and '20s, honouring Art Nouveau style and Budapest's legendary coffee house culture. Conceived by EDG Design of San Francisco, the look is a collage of the old and new, the luxurious and simple, in keeping with the character of Budapest. Bringing together four distinct focal points - the rotisserie, bar, wine cellar and patisserie - as well as a convertible, all-season terrace, the environment feels hip and comfortable, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. To contrast the historic interior, the artwork on display is contemporary, featuring regularly changing shows curated by Art Market Budapest, the organizer of Eastern Europe's top international contemporary art fair. Chef Árpád Györffy - previously chef at Arany Kaviár and sous-chef at Alabárdos in Budapest - has created a menu that blends local and international flavors, as well as traditional and modern dishes. The focus is on modern European and French brasserie cuisine with signature Hungarian specialties. Cocktails are traditional yet with chic, modern flair, based on a bar menu created by Jaime Jones, the London-based international bar consultant and global gin connoisseur. Kollázs's sommelier, Mátyás Szik, has won twice the Hungarian Sommelier Championship - in 2013 and 2014 - and was previously head sommelier at Budapest's Prime Steak & Wine. The music at KOLLÁZS blends well-known songs, such as Hungarian and French tracks from the 1950s and '60s, with modern sounds - in a soundtrack selected exclusively for the restaurant. Headed by restaurant manager Mihály Kártyás, the KOLLÁZS team provides service that is casual, friendly and social. As part of the plan to create a lively atmosphere, the restaurant offers reasonable prices that are intended to attract an eclectic mix of people. As Budapest emerges as a modern metropolis, KOLLÁZS perfectly captures the dynamic spirit of the city: historic yet contemporary, timeless yet fresh, glamorous yet relaxed. KOLLÁZS promises to become one of Budapest's most popular dining destinations - welcoming with understated, informal elegance.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
179 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Out of Season��”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very disappointing in food quality especially since it formerly was excellent. Service was ok, menu bland, and prices are over the moon. We are regular diners at top shelf restaurants. This has fallen a long way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your impression of our Gresham Restaurant on the Tripadvisor public website. We understand your time is valuable and it means a lot to us when our guests provide us with feedback.

We constantly strive to ensure that each one of our guests leaves our outlets and the hotel with a feeling of satisfaction; obviously we missed to meet your expectations on this occasion and for that we do apologize. I understand you were a regular guest before and used to come to dine with us many times priory and you were completely satisfied with the quality of our services, nevertheless on this occasion we have failed you. You may rest assured that your comments regarding the quality of the food, as well as our price structure were well noted and will be for sure carefully examined.

Please feel free to contact me directly at: yves.giacometti@fourseasons.com if there is anything I can do for you or if you wish to discuss which specific course or type of food did not serve to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    70
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never had a better experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This really was all in all the best dinner we have ever had anywhere in the world - and at an amazingly reasonable price. The atmosphere was amazing, staff could not do enough, but were not intrusive, just helpful. And the food was incredible, one could even mix and match from normal and tasting menu. I highly recommend the starter of 2 types of foie gras, simply delicious. What wonderful surroundings too, situated in the most beautiful hotel. I want to go again, NOW!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your praising feedback. I was delighted to read that you were so well taken care of in our Gresham Restaurant and enjoyed every minute of your dining experience with us.

Equally pleasing is your comment about atmosphere of our restaurant, the quality of our food and the helpfulness of our refined staff. They are our greatest asset. I will certainly share your praising words with all of them.

We look forward to the pleasure of having you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Meal In Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The service was impeccable: gracious, detailed, unassuming, not overbearing! Our waitress was delightful, had good recommendations, was perfectly on point.

The atmosphere/ambience was relaxed and elegant. The restaurant was only half-full, making this a bit of a hidden gem.

The menu options were varied: traditional Hungarian, Italian, and some dishes (like risotto) that might actually be typified as California Cuisine. The entrees were as beautiful to look at as they were flavorful and delicious. We enjoyed every bite!

This was absolutely, positively the best meal we had in Budapest!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
It was a great pleasure to read your review about your recent dining experience in our Gresham Restaurant and to learn that it was such an enjoyable experience.

I was so glad that you appreciated the elegant atmosphere, the variety of dishes and the warm hospitality extended to you by our staff, highlighting their personable but not intruding manner.

We are so proud of our employees who provide our guests such an unforgettable service. The impression they leave is invaluable for us and their actions speak louder than words in demonstrating the quality of service we promise to our guests.

I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel and outlets in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and delicious respite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

After walking Budapest for 2 days and having mediocre dining experiences (most top rated restaurants are closed on Sunday and Monday) we felt we deserved a lovely lunch in a gorgeous setting. We loved the setting, our very attentive waiter, the excellent beer, and the high quality food. The pace of the service/meal was perfect and we were rejuvenated after our dessert cappuccinos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, charming atmosphere, superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant at the Four Seasons Gresham Palace of an evening and enjoyed the Italian menu. Food is of a high quality and very well prepared and presented. Service is elegant and attentive, and the atmosphere is charming. It is a little on the pricey side but worth it for an excellent and sophisticated dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I was delighted to read that you were pleased the pleasant atmosphere and level of our service in our Gresham Restaurant and enjoyed the Italian menu.

Thank you again for recommending our restaurant and hopefully we will have the chance to be at your service in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOLLAZS - Brasserie & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.