We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOR A PLEASANT DINNER AL FRESCO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyrano

Cyrano
Kristof ter 6, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
1-264-747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #395 of 1,797 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“FOR A PLEASANT DINNER AL FRESCO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On the main mall downtown, a nice terrace slightly away from the main pedestrian traffic. Short, but adequate menu (French-fusion), interesting and not overly priced wine list, attentive and efficient service. The terrace is pleasant, with large umbrellas, comfy chairs and gas heaters. The food is generally good, but sometimes hit-and-miss. Generally, a good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    209
    88
    48
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crap for tourists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just ate a breakfast. Service was ok but the food wasn´t. A dry omelette and an even worse sandwich. Very expensive compared to normal restaurants in Budapest. Value for money was horrible. Wouldn´t recommend for anyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE,ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Upmarket breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Visited whilst walking through pest one morning with my partner and another couple. People were sat out under the heaters but we decided to go inside. At first from the decor we thought we had gone overboard and was going to get charged a fortune for very little. However had a coffee and omelette with vegetables, we were given toast and the food was really really nice. The cost was about £5 roughly each. Nice for a change and pleasant staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

found this restaurant as we were looking for breakfast.Very clean and tidy with excellent decor.Went with friends and the four of us had the same coffee which was excellent and each had a different omelette which were the best we had tasted.the staff were very polite and attentive.Overall a great place to have breakfast a little bit pricey but sometimes you have to pay a little extra for good quality food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A great discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We really enjoyed this place and went twice (the seared tuna salad was *that* good).

Things that make it stand out (apart from great cooking that is partly Hungarian and partly inspired by other things):
- Friendly staff (with a good knowledge of wines)
- Good wines, prices not too high although on the whole it's a little pricy for Budapest... but you get what you pay for
- Fleece rugs and outside heating (definitely a fun idea, the rugs)
- The staff are equally helpful to people who have a full meal with wine and those who just take one simple dish

Next door is a wine bar, but under the same management. It has more of a "snack" menu but they are fine with people ordering from either wine or food menu at either place.

I noticed that staff are posted to try and attract people to eat there, which is fairly common practice in many parts of the world, including in Budapest. I personally don't like it, but can't blame them for doing so.

Definitely worth a visit (and really, if they have seared tuna, go for it).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyrano also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cyrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyrano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.