We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better lunchtime bet than you might think” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baraka Restaurant

Baraka Restaurant
Dorrotya Utca Budapest | Culinaris, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Baraka Restaurant & Lounge) (Terézváros)
+36 30 221 8869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #623 of 1,794 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $24 - $37
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Description: Baraka Restaurant will be moving from Andrassy ut 111 on June 30, 2013. We will open a "pop-up Baraka Lab", on July 4th, 2013, located at Culinaris on Balassi Balint utca 7, until we open our new restaurant located at Dorrotya utca 6, inside the Dorrotya Palace. Our cuisine will maintain its creativity and freshness as we have always provided in the past, since 2001.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A better lunchtime bet than you might think”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Is Monday lunchtime the best or worst time to go to Baraka? On the downside, the restaurant was empty. On the plus side, we got the staff & kitchen to ourselves and also the benefit of the less pricy, but tasty, lunch menu. It was our last day in Budapest and we stopped just before 2pm on the way back from the zoo. A notice outside proclaimed that they served the"grill menu" every day from 12-6, but I still wasn't sure until the darkened door opened that it was actually open. The grill menu itself was not on the board outside, only the fine dining menu, and I suspect this and the fact that it looks completely closed deprives them of a lot of lunchtime traffic. Maybe they don't need it; when we said to our waiter that we should have come last night he said it had been fully booked and was again on Monday.

The fine dining menu looked great but a bit more than I needed - the grill menu includes basics such as marinated prawns, chicken supreme or ribs, many of which are also available in starter portions, but cooked with the skills & attention of fine dining. My only slight gripe was that the marinade on my prawn skewer rather overpowered the prawns. They come with a really tasty and seemingly well-sourced salad (my husband even ate the tomatoes -trust me, that means they are good tomatoes). You can then order side dishes incuding potato or couscous. The only puddings were from the fine dining menu, and this together with the (excellent) wine meant the meal was not particularly cheap, but you could get away with a lot less than we paid.

It would be easy to overlook Baraka as a lunchtime choice, partly because it's not on a restaurant-y street and partly because of its own apparently wilful refusal to woo a lunchtime crowd, but it's definitely one to consider after a morning at the City Park, especially as the weather gets colder and the park's al fresco options begin to look a bit bracing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worst service in Europe so far...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Such a shame. We were staying in the hotel and really looking forward to dining at Baraka having read great reviews. With schedule changes, we were only able to make it a lunch as we were leaving before evening. My husband and I, and children 5 & 8, were seated outside. First we were led to the furthest table away but we asked to be more central. The food and wine came, and shortly thereafter, the bees. At first, just a few which were annoying, but in a few minutes we had 5 or 6 bees (or yellow jackets?) buzzing around, landing on the kids' hamburger meat. My husband gestured to a waiter and asked if there were any tricks they had to steer the bees away from our table. The waiter shrugged and just said no. A few minutes later, with kids unable to eat with bees not budging from their food, we asked to be moved to an inside table to which he replied, "sure". We waited and waited and waited, but no one lifted a finger to lead us to a new table. Finally, the entire meal ruined due to frustratedly waving aggressive bees away, hungry kids unable to eat, and the complete indifference of the staff (we had now spoken to a 2nd waiter), I went inside the hotel to speak to a manager. The front desk clerk apologized saying that the manager was on vacation. I explained the situation which he acknowleged was wrong, apologized again and said he would speak to the waiter and surely something could be done. Upon returning, we were more ignored than before and my husband raised the subject again as he was really angry by now. The waiter used the excuse that we could have gone inside (clearly he meant on our own, caring all of our plates, glasses, wine, etc. to an area we didn't even know the entrance to...?) and that he had been busy. (There were never more than 4 tables of guests and he had a coworker, neither appearing remotely busy at any time.) Not a gesture was made to make amends in any way and we left the gorgeous city of Budapest with the worst possible taste in our mouths, thanks to the horrific (lack of) service of this rude waiter. We live in Italy, have lived in the US and India, traveled extensively and never have we had such an arrogant and uncaring server. About the food? Thanks to him, we can't remember.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We tried the 5-course tasting menu. Three of the dishes were excellent, Michelin-star level, one was decent and the dessert was a bit heavy (although it would probably suit many chocolate lovers). Staff was professional and eager to discuss and explain the food. Some of the courses took a while to arrive, but were usually worth the wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great location in the centre. We eat outside which was really cool. The food and service was excellent. A good place to hang out and relax..another must if you are first timers in the city.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Drizzley day and we were walking up the long and beautiful Andrassy St when we saw the restaurantname and I remembered seeing the reviews in Trip Advisor. What fantastic food. If you can't afford dinner, which is quite expensie by Hungarian standards, try Lunch.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baraka Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Baraka Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraka Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.