We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosenstein

Rosenstein
3 Mosonyi Utca, VIII, Budapest 1087, Hungary
+36 1 313 4196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 1,992 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

You must try this restaurant. They bake their own bread which is extraordinary. Very old fashioned style and good service. If it's good enough for Robert De Niro ...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    105
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overcharged and misled by waiter. We were ripped off.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We went here as recommended by our hotel Three Corners, Bristol. The first two courses were fine, then the waiter persuaded us to have melon for desert, we were full but he was very persuasive. He then suggested a desert wine, yet again very persuasive. We all agreed. We were disappointed with the melon it was half a melon filled with melon balls and strawberries and a scoop of ice cream. We paid the bill and left. When we looked at the bill at our hotel we realised we had paid £9 /3000 huf each for the melon and £7/ 2300huf each for the desert wine. We thought the melon charge was an error as the.main courses were not this expensive. We asked our hotel to call them as they had recommended the restaurant, they did call and it wasn't an error. We felt totally ripped off. I am aware we should have checked the prices but we never imagined the prices being so high. The restaurant did say to the hotel if we wanted to go back for another meal they would knock 10,000huf off our bill...not likely...beware tourists they rip you off!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My favourite meal in Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We arrived in Budapest and used the trip advisor app to find something close by and was lucky to stumble upon this place! It is a little off the beaten track (in district VIII) so it felt more authentic. Excellent service, and there was a musician entertaining the crowd. It is a little more pricey than the rest of Budapest, but worth it. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You must eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very authentic and very very good food. The menu was a little confusing as it was both in Hungarian and English, but that really just added to the fun of the evening

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

great service, great menu, really good kitchen, traditional, cant go wrong if you pick this place for a nice lunch or for dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosenstein also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rosenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosenstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.