We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with good prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Kor

Cafe Kor
Sas utca 17, St. Stephen's Basilica, Budapest 1051, Hungary (Belváros-Lipótváros)
1-311-0053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 2,011 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belváros-Lipótváros
Norheimsund, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food with good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had our dinner at Cafe Kôr friday evening. Splendid food, lovely place and good service. Absolutely necessary to make a reservation any day. Recommended! Hungarian food mostly, but not as heavy as we have experienced other places. Good wine and not to expensive either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    304
    91
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is special for me as I spent a summer working in Budapest 15 years ago and I already loved going there. I took my husband there this summer hoping it was still good... and yes. The place is bustling (reservations advised) but they are really nice and will try to get you a table. The food is amazing - menu includes unavoidable Hungarian dish such as goulash or the sour cherry soup, as well as traditional products and recipes "modernized", creating delicious dishes (whole foie gras with fruit, stews etc...). I highly recommend this place but again suggest that you make a reservation!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good traditional hungarian food in a lively restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This looks like the place you would go to for lunch if you work in the neighbourhood. A welcoming, lively and winesome atmosphere. The have a more 'international' menu, the typical hungarian dishes are displayed on the wall. The goulash soup was really excellent. For main dish we had duck leg with cabbage and mashed potatoes. The duck was succulent and worked well with the cabbage and potatoes. We had our best 'traditional' lunch here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hungarian food with a touch of international cuisine... always fresh and precise.
the service is great, the wine selection is rich - try the duck breast in orange with spinach taligtelle, and of course the steak.
a good restaurant in a great location with fair prices

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great ambience and convenient location next to Basilica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love the ambience, with high ceiling and lively atmosphere. Frequented by locals, which is a good sign, despite its great location next to the Basilica. Menu selection was great. Food was ok.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kor also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Kor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Kor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.