We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Kazinczy utca 14, Budapest 1075, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
+36 1 352 4198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 85 nightlife in Budapest
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The oldest ruin pub in Budapest.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Astonishing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I think it's the best bar I've been to! Great place, atmosphere, colourful, nice music, you can feel great spirit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    165
    18
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must in Pest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Amazing Ruin pub- very different experience and highly recommend.

We were only in Budapest for 48 hours but came here twice.

Great place to hang with a Sisha on a lazy Sunday as well!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia, Zg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is great eclectic style bar, something great and different. Impossible to describe interior, made of thousand different style furniture. Place to go!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great eclectic scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Loved this place! Great atmosphere with mismatched décor everywhere, old chairs and sofas, bathtubs as chairs, a garden on the second floor, lots of students and international kids. Plays quirky and loud music.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I love Szimpla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I came here back. I was here as a student 5 years ago and the place is still amazing
Sharing my memoris with my school fruwnds. Highly recommended. I love the athosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Szimpla Kert to your Saves list