We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eclectic scene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Kazinczy utca 14, Budapest 1075, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
+36 1 352 4198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 89 Nightlife in Budapest
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The oldest ruin pub in Budapest.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great eclectic scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Loved this place! Great atmosphere with mismatched décor everywhere, old chairs and sofas, bathtubs as chairs, a garden on the second floor, lots of students and international kids. Plays quirky and loud music.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    204
    23
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I love Szimpla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I came here back. I was here as a student 5 years ago and the place is still amazing
Sharing my memoris with my school fruwnds. Highly recommended. I love the athosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really interesting bar with a great atmosphere - go and explore all the rooms & spaces as there are so many!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must in Budapest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I like beer, bars / pubs and crazy, curious things.
Szimpla Kert is a ruin bar that has all the above. There are a number of things hanging on the wall and a chessboard with several buttons that make crazy things anytime you press them.
You can rent shishas with different recipes and upstairs there's something to eat. There's some sort of pizza or sandwich that is good to stuff (it worth if you are planning to have some Palinkas).
Definitely, it worth the visit!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice. Not as much as i expected. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I have read some very good reviews for this place so we went there. The truth is that i thought it would be better than it really was. However, it would be a lie if i said that i did not enjoy it. Nice enviriment, a little bit expencive. Nice music. Many rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.