We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. Not as much as i expected. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Kazinczy utca 14, Budapest 1075, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
+36 1 352 4198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 93 Nightlife in Budapest
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The oldest ruin pub in Budapest.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice. Not as much as i expected. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I have read some very good reviews for this place so we went there. The truth is that i thought it would be better than it really was. However, it would be a lie if i said that i did not enjoy it. Nice enviriment, a little bit expencive. Nice music. Many rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    205
    23
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
1 review
“Something special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I came here with my friend and host, Ezster, whom I had met 2 yrs earlier in at the Ecumenical Community of Taize in the French Countryside. Also with us were her flatmate, Andre, and his girlfriend visiting from Paris. It was a remarkable place. The ruin pubs are really something special, and this is the king of them all. You simply have to experience them, as there is no way to describe the eclectic, even madcap, atmosphere. Nothing in the world like this. It is part of what made Budapest my favorite city in Europe. Go with friends, or go to make friends, or both.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Play the resident bear at shove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Went there on both Fry-day and Saturday, with a large squadron of lads and had an amazing time. The atmosphere was eggcellent! Beer is cheap and the jäger trains are long and plentiful!!
One tip: wear your best pants and head there on a Fry-day between 12-14:00 to play the resident bear; a local alcoholic jaundice resident who will play challengers at the classic game of shove! He plays not for money but for pride. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ankara
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magic Land!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place is amazing. Many shocking features, mysterious, international craziness with a local taste... Crowd so relaxed but at the same time lots of good looking people inside. Loved the organic bazaar on Sunday morning too. Great experience!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was for sure the best bar I ever been in my life, I never seen something like this before!

The place is just amazing with great vibe. It has a crazy visual and nothing matches but somehow it's so beautiful. Loads of different rooms but the best for me was the room with loads of TV screen.

If you go there try the Unicum! it is a traditional and local drink that will blow your mind!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.