We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoreditch in Budapest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Kazinczy utca 14, Budapest 1075, Hungary (Erzsébetváros)
+36 1 352 4198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 102 Nightlife in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Bars & clubs, Nightlife
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The oldest ruin pub in Budapest.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Shoreditch in Budapest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Has that bohemian quirky thing going on. Tucked away in the Jewish quarter we stumbled on by mistake and walked into the cavernous entrance. Making our way through this dark inside pub we settled outdoors in a great little courtyard. Drinks are marginally more than elsewhere but its a superb place to go for a few drinks and take in one of the more interesting drinking holes you'll ever be in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    236
    29
    10
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“like in a movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Love the design of this place, or perhaps lack of it. It is a bit like beeing in a some kind of a place in a Blade runner movie. Fun place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must see!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Words wouldn't do this place justice. Szimpla is the best bar I've been to hands down. We put together our own pub crawl and had Szimpla kert as our last stop which worked out perfectly since we definitely spent the most time there. Cheap drinks and food with an amazing atmosphere!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Different, Great Fun and Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had read about this in the top 10 Things to do in Budapest. We went early evening before dinner. We had never seen anything like this before. What a great atmosphere. Large open courtyard with all sorts of things hanging from steel poles etc. lamp shades swinging and bicycles hanging in the air etc etc etc. Several little bar areas and great selection of drinks and cheap. We stayed here about one hour and started talking to a few people near us. It was a very friendly place. There were many young people, tourists, and even elderly (like us). Great place. Don't miss it. You will enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very unique and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was hesistant at first to visit this place as I thought it was a tourist trap of some sort. Although it is filled with young tourists, there is quite nothing like it that I have ever seen or experienced. Yes it is a bar but it's definitely much more than that. It is extremely appealing visually and mentally and has a very unique atmosphere it creates while being able to enjoy some drinks and some amazing music. It definitely is worth the visit and we met some great people at this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.