We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szimpla Kert

Szimpla Kert
Kazinczy utca 14, Budapest 1075, Hungary (District VII / Jewish Quarter)
+36 1 352 4198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 122 Nightlife in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dive deep in Budapest’s unique nightlife, go to Kazinczy Street! It is not an accident that it’s also called the Street of Culture, Kazinczy street offers the greatest variety of touristic highlights, the most famous ruinbar, fine dining and the highest quality Kosher restaurants, the most colorful streetfood in Budapest. Under 14. Kazinczy street you can find the pioneer of all; the first ruinbar: Szimpla Kert. Here you will find an uncomparable atmosphere, fine food and drinks, cultural events like movie projections, live music concerts every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, a free jam session on Sundays, farmers’ market on Sunday mornings and many more. Szimpla Kert welcomes you all day with breakfast, lunch and dinner offers, beautiful garden, interesting objects and people. It’s always full of life, especially in the evening, it turns into an international meeting point.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Words wouldn't do this place justice. Szimpla is the best bar I've been to hands down. We put together our own pub crawl and had Szimpla kert as our last stop which worked out perfectly since we definitely spent the most time there. Cheap drinks and food with an amazing atmosphere!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    351
    49
    17
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Different, Great Fun and Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had read about this in the top 10 Things to do in Budapest. We went early evening before dinner. We had never seen anything like this before. What a great atmosphere. Large open courtyard with all sorts of things hanging from steel poles etc. lamp shades swinging and bicycles hanging in the air etc etc etc. Several little bar areas and great selection of drinks and cheap. We stayed here about one hour and started talking to a few people near us. It was a very friendly place. There were many young people, tourists, and even elderly (like us). Great place. Don't miss it. You will enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very unique and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was hesistant at first to visit this place as I thought it was a tourist trap of some sort. Although it is filled with young tourists, there is quite nothing like it that I have ever seen or experienced. Yes it is a bar but it's definitely much more than that. It is extremely appealing visually and mentally and has a very unique atmosphere it creates while being able to enjoy some drinks and some amazing music. It definitely is worth the visit and we met some great people at this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The pub is unlike any others that you might have been to, the design and architecture of that place is very innovative, quite an eye opener. Huge choice of drinks at reasonable prices, and shisha is available there as well. The most exciting part is the people that you get to meet them, from all different countries, where you will get to interact with them and learn stuffs from their adventures.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Szimpla night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Super cool, interesting, extravagant place, full of nice young people from around the world, fine service, good music and happy memories with friends :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szimpla Kert also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szimpla Kert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szimpla Kert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.