We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Basilica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Central Basilica to your Saves list
Hotel Central Basilica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hercegprimas utca 8, Budapest H-1051, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

On the good side, the hotel is located very conveniently to downtown Budapest and has a very good breakfast for the price. However, I experienced very poor service at the front desk and the beds are very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    227
    44
    7
    2
See reviews for
49
217
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Just returned from four nights at the Central Basilica and can thoroughly recommend it. Recent reviewers have described it very well and there isn't a great deal I can add, it is a fairly basic bed and breakfast hotel but is spotlessly clean and comfortable, brilliantly located and incredible value for money. The reception staff deserve special mention for their friendly and welcoming manner and for all the help and advice they take pride in giving to help their guests enjoy this beautiful city.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are fine, they face into a central courtyard and as such are very quiet and ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over a long weekend, and would recommend this hotel. The location is brilliant right next to the Basillica, but on a mainly pedestranised street, so we did not find it too noisy. The reception staff were brilliant, really helpful and informative and happy to answer questions and give advice. The room we had was large enough and adequately furnished, it was cleaned every day. The bed was comfy but only one small pillow each - but I am sure if we had asked they would have provided more.
Breakfast was good and ran from 7-10am which was ideal, you help yourself which means you can take as long as you want or have a quick breakfast and move on.
I cannot fault the place for the price that we paid, it was a bargain and the staff make it welcoming and friendly - would recommend to anyone who wants a city break and a great base to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location close to bars restaurant metro and shops Starbucks across the street .Basic but clean and good price. basic breakfast too but ok...for the price included .24 reception .mini bar airport shuttle bus picks up and drops off outside door on limited traffic access street ..............................

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Spent 3 nights at this hotel whilst on a city break. It offered everything we wanted

Great location
- Close to one of the main metro stations (only 1 bus & 1 metro ride away from airport)
- short walk to the river
- plenty of choice for restaurants

Service
- great experience checking in. Very helpful in terms of hotel & tourist info
- staff continued to be helpful & friendly throughout stay.
- got email from hotel shortly after booking it offering us assistance from airport which was a nice touch.

Room
- spacious and clean
- room was a little stuffy but turning off the heating unit (it didn't seem to go very cool) and sleeping with window open helped

Breakfast
- lovely! Good selection; cereals with fruit, ham & cheeses, two trays of hot food, breads & pastries.
- agree with a previous reviewer, they would benefit from having a toaster.
- not sure if it was the time of year we were there, but plenty of free tables.

Great value for money, would definitely recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have recently returned home after a fun filled and very well packed 4 days/3 nights in Budapest. We travelled with 2 friends and had an amazing time. The reception staff couldnt do enough to help. I ordered champagne and chocolates for our rooms and as requested these were there waiting for us upon arrival. We had inside rooms on the first floor and therefore they were very quiet although no view...a view is not neccesary when you are only in it for sleeping after a busy day. We asked for a shower cubicle instead of a bath and this was granted. Fabulous and very powerful/hot shower. Towels are a little thin but when its only for a few days its not a problem. TV and fridge in room and safety deposit box also. Rooms were very hot but windows opened both ways and let in plenty of fresh air.
Breakfast was very good. Plenty of cereal, breads, meats/cheese, and hot breakfast available along with tea/coffee and juices. Plenty of food and constantly replenished.
Reception staff were extremely helpful in advising us on where we wanted to go and also ordering taxis etc.
We had a taxi to and from the airport organised by the hotel. This was quick and easy and efficient too.
The FREE walking tours are a must. The best tours we have been on. Very knowledgable and friendly and speak perfect english. They work on tips only. We paid them well as to us this was well worth it.
St Stephens Bascilicca was right next to the hotel. This is a must for a visit as its amazing.
There was alot of building work going on whilst we were in Budapest due to the government officials forthcoming visit to see what their money has been spent on. Unfortunately this meant that the Parliament building had buildinbg and cleaning work in progress whilst we were there so not the best for photos, but you were still able to go inside if you wished.
Westher was not too bad. A little like England. Light showers, sunshine and a bit cooler at night.
All in all an excellent break and a beautiful City. We visited most of it in the time there although we didnt go into any museums and only biewed from outside (this didnt matter as we had already been given so much information from free walking tours,

Room Tip: inside rooms are quiet. Rooms with shower are fab and very powerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Staff v helpful, breakfast was good, there was plenty of choice (although the milky rice at breakfast was weird-looking?!). Easy to find from Deak Ter metro station, 24hr shop round the corner, couple of coffee-shop chains very close, 5 mins walk to Danube.

Only downside was the comfort of the bed wasn't ideal but this may depend on what you're used to at home. I would also have liked brew-making stuff in the room, and wifi included (I have no idea how much it was, I didn't ask).

Room Tip: If you can stretch to a 'superior' room you get a view of the Basilica and not overlooked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Central Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Basilica

Address: Hercegprimas utca 8, Budapest H-1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#73 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Basilica 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Central Basilica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Basilica Hotel
Central Basilica Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Central Basilica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.