We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanchid 19 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lanchid 19 Hotel to your Saves list
Lanchid 19 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lanchid u 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 329 Hotels in Budapest
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The very best location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were staying there a weekend with friends. It was just super. The hotel location is fantastic. Beautiful surroundings with the Castle and lots of trees on the other side and the amazing city view with the river Danube on the other side. Easy to access everything on foot...and if you have luck, as we had...it is just amazing walking through this beautiful city.

We had different types of rooms so we could compare both the rooms and the views.I think it is worth to pay a bit more for the amazing river view however the very romantic, quite Castle side has also a charme. What I need to point is the staff. They are young and very polite, kind and helpful. Rooms sizes are quite good but our castle side room was a bit smaller than the river side one. Breakfast is absolutely wide selection, I can not agree with previous comments regarding the breakfast poor selection. You can drink breakfast coffee from real coffe beans from a coffee machine and not served in the general thermos bottle. All in all our stay was faboulus. Definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Upper floor river side!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. Please let me know when you return, so I can help you finding the best room for you.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    126
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
177
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was one of two hotels we stayed at on this trip that were a part of the "Design Hotel" portfolio where the website hype exceeded the experience. Not saying you shouldn't stay here, just that service delivery was not as successful as the design aesthetic. In short, this hotel has movie star looks, but needs acting lessons.

The hotel staff is trained in the fundamentals which translates at time into being well intentioned but missing the nuance that assures a quality customer experience. The staff is English capable, but doesn't always fully comprehend. I would say the same thing about my Hungarian. I lived and worked in Budapest for three years and this is just part of the Hungarian service conundrum.

ROOM: Our room was on the fifth floor, spectacular view overlooking the Danube. The decor was W-esque. Good quality. The king bed dominates the space and pretty much serves as the only comfortable seating area. Sleep quality was good, but not necessarily luxurious. Storage was plentiful with a full wall desk with drawers and a spacious closet. The bathroom wasn't large but functional (one person at a time). The shower was a good size and had a handy built-in shelf for towels and toiletries.

The only issue we had is one day we returned to find our room cleaned, but no towels. When we called the front desk, it took a bit of effort to explain that we didn't need more towels, that we had no towels, wash clothes or bath mat at all. Once our need was understood, they were promptly dispatched. Oh and about the towels. We would have long retired them as cleaning rags (see photos).

We had a similar experience with ice. We called to ask for ice and they delivered a glass about 30 minutes later with four cubes of ice in it. I sort of just chuckled because I had forgotten that Hungarians have a general aversion to ice cubes. They think one cube is excessive. :-) Yet this is a "Design Hotel" so they really should have been better prepared for a very common request. Only thing is this hotel doesn't actually have the standard ice buckets with a lid that you typically find, so we ended up with a champagne bucket of ice. It worked, but it goes to the point of not really being fine-tuned.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast here was a 13 euro/person buffet that was underwhelming. I know some people have found the food good (it was OK), but that's why I go in to detail so you understand where I am coming from. First off they serve it in a back room that doubles as a meeting room with harsh lighting that feels like you are eating in a cafeteria, when their gorgeous dining room with stunning views of the Danube sits on the other side of the wall unused, taunting you. Also, you simply feel as though you are a bother to the staff while you are there. They are perfunctory in keeping the buffet serviced, but it's as though guests are in the way. It's not how they interact with you, it's that they don't interact with you at all. No welcome, no good morning. Nothing. Here is an example of how they just don't get service. If you're like me, you appreciate a glass of fresh squeezed OJ. It's one of those guilty pleasures you get on vacation. However, I don't pay $20 for breakfast and expect to stand there and squeeze my own. I thought the juicer, bowl of oranges, knife and cutting board were for show only to learn (too late) that the OJ in the dispenser was pre-processed (processed juices in Hungary come in boxes that imparts a distinctive flavor.) We learned that the place to go for breakfast was next door at Restaurant Marvelosa. Better price, better food and table service.

CONCIERGE SERVICES: They don't really have a concierge. The front desk staff performs this function and relies heavily on website information. So unless it's in Hungarian, you can figure it out as well yourself. The staff confidently gives answers once they review a page but that doesn't necessarily mean they actually know the answer as we learned late one night when we ventured out only to find the opposite of what we were told by the Hotel.

INTERNET: It SUCKS! It's free and for the most part useless. it was the only place on the entire trip that we were not able to post photos on FB. Maybe this is not important to you, but it's another symptom of pretty face and lack of substance. The situation remained this way for four days. The hotel staff was clueless about the problem.

LOCATION: Ideal, simply ideal. It's what saves them.

GROUND TRANSPORTATION: The trams stop in front of the hotel and travel up and down the Danube, but you need to cross the bridge on foot to go to Pest. You buy tram tickets at a metro station which unfortunately is not convenient to the hotel. I simply don't understand why the hotel does not have tram/bus/metro tickets at the desk for guests to purchase. They are undated and they come in books like stamps. is it not allowed or do they simply choose not to be bothered?

One last thing, we headed down to the front desk at 6:45 AM on our departure date to check-out and allow time for a taxi to be called. The moment we stepped into the lobby, one of the front desk clerks exclaimed proudly that our taxi was here and whisked our luggage out to a waiting Mercedes. Wow. It wasn't until we were about half-way to the airport when we realized that we probably snagged another guests planned ride. Sorry. However, did I mention the hotel needs fine tuning?

Room Tip: The Danube view rooms are worth it. The city at night is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your detailed review. We are glad you had a good impression of our hotel. We have looked into the issues you indicated in your review and made sure our colleagues keep the high standards they are trained at. We were aware of the internet connection problem and upgraded our system and started to use another service provider to strengthen the wifi connection. As for the towels, you are completely right and we are very sorry. It must have been a mistake of a colleague, taking the textile from the out-of-use ones.

I hope we will better meet your expectations next time you visit Budapest.
Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My collegue and I spent two nights at this hotel during a business trip. The location is beautiful, along the Danube and opposite Lanchid bridge. Perfect for travellers who want to explore the city centre. The hotel looks very good on the outside and on the inside, modern and with all the facilities you'd expect: safe, minibar, flatscreen etc. The rooms are not very big but hey, we're in the city centre here. For the same reason you cannot leave the window open at night: it's too noisy, but with the window closed and airco on (it was very hot during our stay) it's quiet. The beds are good. In this hotel the breakfast is not included in the room price but it's worth the extra money: very good buffet with everything one can desire, good coffee (you can serve yourself from a Jura espresso machine), fresh orange juice (you can press the oranges yourself). We just thought that is was a pity that the breakfast room is located at the back of the hotel and not at the top floor, where we could have enjoyed the view over the Danube river. There are no facilities such as a pool or a wellness centre but if you come here, it's to see the town, not to stay at your hotel. The staff is very attentive and really helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review on the hotel, breakfast and staff.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We loved Budapest and this hotel was in a fantastic location. The hotel and room was a hip, simplistic and minimalist design. Loved the soaking tub. The staff was very nice. Once we arrived at 8pm, we dropped our bags off and walked all around the town. We would stay at this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Lisa,

thank you so much for your kind review. Please let us know when returning.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel is perfect for a city brake. From here you can see all Budapest very easily because everything is near (monuments,restaurants,shops..)
The best was the breakfast wish was a litle selection of hungarian charcuterie, selection of homemade breads, coffes, fruit salad,yogurt, fruit juices...unfortunatelly the breakfast was not included...but we enjoyed anyway

Room Tip: choose the room which has the river view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing this wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast selection.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miskolcz, Miskolc, Hungary
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we are really spending every weekend at Budapest to enjoy life there. We supposed to know Budapest design and fashion hotels well. We spent the past Saturday evening (8th,Sep) at Lanchid 19 Hotel for our 1st anniversary and my 29th week pregnancy. As it was recommended by a friend of us, we also checked pictures online, really expected something amazing, but the room turns out to be disappointing. I agree the premium location it has, next to the Lanchid Bridge, if you have a room face the Duna Rivier above 4th floor, you might have better view, but we were told the hotel fully booked and arranged a tiny room at 6th floor face the castle side. Not complaining the view and quietness of Castle side, but how come we cannot understand the concept of the design apart from they have the same designer chair "Supernatural" as in our house. The worst thing might be the rich creamy onion smell in the room when we woke up at 9th morning, it lasted the whole morning. OMG! that is not a good experience with a design hotel. Needless to say, the akward design bath tube is without a sense of design, it only frustrates you when the water sprinkles everywhere on the floor, though the bathroom is almost the same size as the bedroom. It seems the staff there was not reported by the onion smell from the room, they left us no comments on the smell. My conclusion: stay there if you want to spare your legs to have a relaxing walk at Lanchid Bridge, plus you are quiet a big fan for Onions and care less about the value of your money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bridge side might be the reason for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time for the review. We are sorry to read you did not like the design chair in your room. In each room there is a different chair and a design stroy behind it (that you can see on the wall). We have a brochure at the reception giving all information on the concept. As for your other complaints, we will definitely look into the issues to see how we can manage them.

Thank you again. Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent just one night here and our experience was great. The room was beautiful, but the view was ok, it is supposed to be a Buda Castle view but it was more a trees view, but is ok. We are not greedy, everything else was great. The location is perfect, in front of the river, walking distance from most of the things. The service was great too.

Room Tip: Pick a riverview room, if you dont want to spend the money that cost that view, don't bother in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. Let me know if you visit Budapest again and we will find a deluxe room for you to see the Danube and the whole city.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanchid 19 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanchid 19 Hotel

Address: Lanchid u 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#43 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#67 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanchid 19 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lánchíd 19 design hotel Budapest, providing a beautiful view on UNESCO World Heritage sites of Budapest, is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the feet of the Buda Royal Castle, just a few minutes walk from the city center. Besides the accustomed comfort and elegance of four-star hotels, it offers a unique visual experience to travellers looking for creative design solutions. - European Hotel Design Awards 2008 - Best Architecture- Condé Nast Traveller's Hot List 2008 - Best 65 Places To Stay- Wallpaper&Fortune Magazine's 50 Best Business Hotels 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lanchid 19 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanchid 19 Budapest
Hotel Lanchid 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanchid 19 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.