We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With Euro150 you can find pools of better design hotel at Budapest or worldwide” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lanchid 19 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lanchid 19 Hotel to your Saves list
Lanchid 19 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lanchid u 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary (Várkerület)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miskolcz, Miskolc, Hungary
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“With Euro150 you can find pools of better design hotel at Budapest or worldwide”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we are really spending every weekend at Budapest to enjoy life there. We supposed to know Budapest design and fashion hotels well. We spent the past Saturday evening (8th,Sep) at Lanchid 19 Hotel for our 1st anniversary and my 29th week pregnancy. As it was recommended by a friend of us, we also checked pictures online, really expected something amazing, but the room turns out to be disappointing. I agree the premium location it has, next to the Lanchid Bridge, if you have a room face the Duna Rivier above 4th floor, you might have better view, but we were told the hotel fully booked and arranged a tiny room at 6th floor face the castle side. Not complaining the view and quietness of Castle side, but how come we cannot understand the concept of the design apart from they have the same designer chair "Supernatural" as in our house. The worst thing might be the rich creamy onion smell in the room when we woke up at 9th morning, it lasted the whole morning. OMG! that is not a good experience with a design hotel. Needless to say, the akward design bath tube is without a sense of design, it only frustrates you when the water sprinkles everywhere on the floor, though the bathroom is almost the same size as the bedroom. It seems the staff there was not reported by the onion smell from the room, they left us no comments on the smell. My conclusion: stay there if you want to spare your legs to have a relaxing walk at Lanchid Bridge, plus you are quiet a big fan for Onions and care less about the value of your money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bridge side might be the reason for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time for the review. We are sorry to read you did not like the design chair in your room. In each room there is a different chair and a design stroy behind it (that you can see on the wall). We have a brochure at the reception giving all information on the concept. As for your other complaints, we will definitely look into the issues to see how we can manage them.

Thank you again. Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    141
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
32
204
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent just one night here and our experience was great. The room was beautiful, but the view was ok, it is supposed to be a Buda Castle view but it was more a trees view, but is ok. We are not greedy, everything else was great. The location is perfect, in front of the river, walking distance from most of the things. The service was great too.

Room Tip: Pick a riverview room, if you dont want to spend the money that cost that view, don't bother in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. Let me know if you visit Budapest again and we will find a deluxe room for you to see the Danube and the whole city.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is situated on the bank of Danube river, very close to the famous chain bridge.. We spent 2 nights there and I have to say that the experience was just amazing. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we could enjoy a pleasant view on the river. The hotel is very modern and clean. Most of the stuff was polite and helpful. One negative aspect is that the hotel doesn't have it's own parking, so we had to manage the car by ourselves. Overall, it was a nice experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are really proud of the view from our deluxe rooms. We have been negotiating with local authorities and parking companies for years now about getting free parking lots. We have 5 free parking lots in front of the hotel and if they are full, our guest have to park on the other side of the street. It is still in front of the hotel, but not owned by us.

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last week, and I have to say, it was Amazing! We had a deluxe room on the fifth floor, with unbelievable view of the city! The staff was simply superb, especially Gergely, who recommended us amazing restaurants and booked them for us! On check out, Anita was super nice as well! Even èva, our housekeeper was cool. Always got a nice honest smile and a little chat! Love this hotel, especially because of the staff! Hopefully we will be back soon! Thanks!!!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

we are glad to read you were satisfied with our hotel, services and staff. And thank you for being so nice to name our colleagues. We are really keen on employing the best staff in Buda.
We hope you return to us.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel room offered me an excellent view of the Danube. I could lie in bed and look out of the ceiling to floor window - bliss!

However, were it not for the view, I believe this hotel (on the Buda side) would find it difficult to fill all of the rooms. The negatives were an unattractive bar area - more or less in front of the reception desk and a very unappealing restaurant area on the first floor - in 4 days we only saw one couple eating in the restaurant. The breakfast was very basic and, in my opinion, over priced so we opted to eat elsewhere.

I'm unlikely to return to the hotel as there are better alternatives on the Pest side.

Room Tip: No point in going to this hotel unless you have a room with a very good view of the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. We are glad you liked the location of the hotel and the nice view. of the Danube. The other side of the hotel faces a very quiet Castle area, many of our guests like staying there too. As for the restaurant, we are planning to change the lighting to make it more intimate.

Kind regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We've booked the room 2 months in advance and we saved about 20% from the price of the standard room. We payed 67 € per night.
All standard rooms are at the lower floors. We asked for a room with a view on the danube and we got it (even if it was not included in the standard room rate)!
The hotel is 10 minutes by walk from the Pest center and 3 minutes from Lanchid bridge. It's also very close to the funicular for the Buda Castle.
The room is very spacious, always cleen, with free Wifi. The bathroom is equipped with the bathub, nice,clean and confortable.
Personell is very kind and helpful.
The hotel is really a 4 stars!
If I came back to Budapest I'd book for this hotel again, well done!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Smallish room, but big beautiful view. Terrible bath design. Not a viable shower option without flooding the bathroom.
Breakfast not included and pricy though uninspired. Walk 2 doors down and dine at Marvellosa (sp?) Reception very helpful interfacing with Hertz who ultimately brought the rental car to the hotel. Hotel staff also helped me figure out how to shift into reverse!
Be aware that the hotel is on the Buda side near the Citrodella and Castle Hill. It's an easy wonderful 10 minute walk over Chain Bridge to Pest side where most of the sights are.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edit R, General Manager at Lanchid 19 Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alison,

thank you for taking the time to write your nice review. You are right, there are more pubs and restaurants on the Pest side of the city, but being on the Buda side has also its advantages. It is definitely much more quiet and much more green.
Thank you for pointing out our helpful staff.

Best regards,

Edit Rozsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanchid 19 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanchid 19 Hotel

Address: Lanchid u 19, Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#42 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#61 Business Hotel in Budapest
#66 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanchid 19 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lánchíd 19 design hotel Budapest, providing a beautiful view on UNESCO World Heritage sites of Budapest, is situated on the Danube riverbank, at the feet of the Buda Royal Castle, just a few minutes walk from the city center. Besides the accustomed comfort and elegance of four-star hotels, it offers a unique visual experience to travellers looking for creative design solutions. - European Hotel Design Awards 2008 - Best Architecture- Condé Nast Traveller's Hot List 2008 - Best 65 Places To Stay- Wallpaper&Fortune Magazine's 50 Best Business Hotels 2008 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lanchid 19 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanchid 19 Budapest
Hotel Lanchid 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanchid 19 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.