We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel, but understand the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. George Residence in the Buda Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. George Residence in the Buda Castle to your Saves list
St. George Residence in the Buda Castle
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fortuna utca 4, Budapest H-1014, Hungary (District I / Buda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
181 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A very good hotel, but understand the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

This is a very nice place, and I would recommend it for anyone who wants to stay in the historic Buda castle area. But for myself next time, I would probably choose a hotel on the Pest side. Buda is a bit too quiet for our tastes. There is a very good shuttle bus service down to the metro, but it still seemed a bit far from the restaurants and nightlife.

The suites in the hotel are very nice, but certainly not flawless. As a previous reviewer noted, there is a lack of comfortable furniture -- the only place to sit in our suite was at the "dining room" table. And our suite also had only a bath -- no shower (or at least no shower curtain, so if you used the hand-held gadget, it sprayed the whole room.)

The free broadband internet was great.

The staff was very helpful, and the welcome gift of a bottle of wine was welcome. On the whole we were satisfied with our stay and would recommend this for anyone who likes a quiet part of town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    80
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
59
175
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We booked the St George Residence for a recent evening in Budapest and found the hotel to be absolutely wonderful. The building is a UNESCO-listed original in the Castle District; it has been adapted many times over the past few centuries and now is stunning as an all-suite hotel. The hotel's location - in the centre of the Buda Castle district - allows for great wandering and provides access to many of Budapest's most majestic buildings. The suites themselves are also very impressive, decorated with period furniture and art. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

My Companies travel agent booked us this Hotel..their choices sometimes leave a lot to be desired. However, this time they came up trumps. A beautiful old building sympathetically restored. My room (actually a suite ) had a large sitting room with kitchenette (containing a complimentary bottle of wine)..free fast internet access via ethernet cable loaned from reception. My bedroom was also large with an excellent bathroom..(my only gripe is that you have to shower holding the hose as it does not fasten to the wall). The Hotel itself is located in an area which can only be described as a Fairy tale film set..absolutely fabulous!. To top it all the winter rate of 99euro was a bargain..The reception staff were friendly and very helpful.
I will return !

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

The hotel location is ideal for seeing the major sights of Budapest. On the Buda side, near the Fisherman's Bastion and the Castle and the Palace--and more--all within easy walking distance.
Reception at St. G is warm and friendly; Julia was in attendance most of our stay and her English skills were so welcomed, as our Hungarian is almost non-existent.
The St G is a beautifully restored hotel--all suites, and ours was the largest of all (1000+ sq feet) It was a bit oddly laid out--a kitchen/dining space to one direction and an open living/bedroom combination the other way.
Floor plans are on their website and there isn't much mystery except for the furniture placement. TV is in the open bedroom, so the sofa has to be moved to watch from anywhere else besides in bed. There are lovely but not-so-comfy chairs and a small table to fit in the cavernous space--along with a desk facing a wall opposite the sofa. It's a LONNNNNGGGG way from one to the other.The internet is wired due to the thick walls so the laptop was strung from one end of the desk wall to the center of the suite. I guess this wasn't an issue 400 years ago!
Our bath was HUGE and tiled--heated towel rack nowhere near the jacuzzi, which had no shower (just seat and hand spray) There was no caulking so it leaked all over the floor, and no doors to halt overspray. The tub was excellent as a whirlpool, tho. More oddities--no towel space by the tub, one sorta close to the vanity sinks...strange strange strange.
Our nicely equipped kitchen was a nice plus for entertaining our airline crew one evening, as we picnic'd with great wines and foods from the local grocery/wine store just a few blocks away. Very convenient!
The location of the St G is so accessible with bus service running frequently to get you to the Pest side and along the Danube.
I utilized the transfers (which are taxi not limousine, as our pkg listed) both ways, enjoyed the full breakfast (after I discovered they offered cook-to-order menu AND cold buffet)
Our package included a dinner--set menu of 3 courses, with no options and it was excellent. Each dish was well-seasoned and presented--YUM! I just would have preferred a choice. The chef is quite talented but sad to say it was so off-season, we were the only diners at any meals.
The St George package offered by luxurylink.com is really good. I doubt you can get a much better value unless you rent an upscale apartment. We enjoyed the 3 night stay but were ready to leave for a mini suite at the Sofitel--with shower and WIFI and another part of the city.

I didn't take any photos of the hotel (or much else since we'd been twice before) but the ones on the website are representative of the rooms and hotel. Their video is pretty good, too--it shows the elegance of the property!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

The rooms are gorgeous and huge. The location is fairy tale. The bathrooms are wonderful. There is a beautiful courtyard. I wish I could stop there, but unfortunately, there were some problems.
We stayed at the St. George Residence for three nights in a Gold Room. We traveled with another couple who booked a Bronze Room. The hotel arranged pickup for the four of us at the train station and the man was waiting when we arrived.
However, when we arrived at hotel reception, they told us they had our reservation, but no record of our friends' reservation. We had both booked at the same time. Eventually, after our friends dug out their confirmation, they acknowledged that they did have a room for them.
Because we were attending a conference later in the week, our friends had 4 large suitcases with materials for the conference. (This would not normally be the case, so we realize it is on us). But, the hotel has many steps and no elevator. This would definitely be a problem for handicapped travelers. They asked for a room on the first floor. They were given a room two flights up.
There also is no porter. We had to drag all the suitcases up and down the stairs ourselves. (Our room was on the top floor - 4 flights!).
Also, the lights in the corridors go off and one finds oneself in pitch black conditions, trying to find the light switch.
The rooms both were huge. Ours had a kitchen, sitting room about 400 square feet and bedroom set up a step from the living room. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, but open plumbing pipes (for an eventual shower apparently) were evident on one wall. The toilet seat back made a huge cracking noise every time one got up. The bed was comfortable, bedding lovely, towels and bathroom amenities nice. However, the maid replaced an empty shampoo container in the amenities rack, with no new shampoo.
The sitting area of our room was huge, however, there was no sofa, no armchair, no where to sit, except one of the 4 wooden seats at a small table in the middle of the room.
The room had 20 foot ceilings, chandeliers, and a lovely view of the courtyard. But there was nowhere to sit!
Our friends' Bronze room was a smaller, all in one room with a small kitchen as well. They had a normal bathroom.
The corridors were beautiful - marble floors, high ceilings, chandeliers and gorgeous furnishings.
The concierge staff was friendly and helped with local transport questions.
Breakfast is not included with the room, but there were cafes and restaurants nearby for coffee and pastry.
However, we do like our coffee and each morning tried to order coffee for 2 persons delivered to the room. One morning, it arrived in two cups with about 1/4" of coffee in each cup. The next morning, they brought a small pot of instant coffee and charged us 10 Euros.
The package we had purchased included a bottle of wine in the room, welcome wine drinks on arrival and afternoon tea one day. We got the bottle of wine and the welcome drinks, no problem.
However, one afternoon after a day of sightseeing, we arrived back at the hotel and asked for our afternoon tea to be served in the courtyard. We waited, They came and tried to take an order for lunch. We said we wished to have the afternoon tea. We waited. We asked again. After more than one hour, a cup of tea arrived with a small piece of dry poppy seed pastry. That was it. Do not count on afternoon tea here.
As to the restaurant, we are at a loss as to whether it is open or not, or whether they actually serve dinner. It always was dark and there was absolutely no one there when we tried to go in. In addition, it smelled dreadfully of old cigar smoke, so much so that we could not stay in the room. They did apparently though host a Rotary Club dinner in one of their side banquet rooms.
There were alternatives nearby, so we did not have trouble finding a good restaurant, including 21 just across the street.
The location of the hotel is perfect. It is right in Buda castle and there are many shops, restaurants and the wonderful Fisherman's bastion right outside the door. There also is the number 16 bus which will take you right into the center of Pest for shopping and sightseeing. The view from the hotel area is wonderful and I would not stay in any other location after being at the castle area.
The day before our departure, we again ordered a car to take us to the train station. We asked the concierge for the same type of car (minivan) that they had booked for us on arrival. A small cab showed up to take the 4 of us and the suitcases to the station. The driver was very upset and threw the cases on the street when we said we would not fit. Eventually the concierge got us a minivan, but we had to ask 4 times and were later than planned getting to the station.
This hotel has so much potential that we want it to succeed. We believe it is severely understaffed and although it is trying to be a 4 star hotel, it does not have the staff to do so. What it needs is good room service, a porter, and completion of the furnishing and building of the facility itself. However, it has been in business for a while, so perhaps it will stay the way it is.
In the end we felt we had stayed in a fairy tale castle that had been abandoned with a few staff left. Perhaps it's the economy, but to retain 4 stars you need to provide more than is being provided. We would stay again, but with lower expectations and definitely less luggage!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We had a very nice time in this hotel. The service at the reception is very professional and fast. The rooms are huge. The hotel is very nice located directly in the middel of the castle area, within a one minute walk you have a very nice view over Budapest.
100% i will try to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and can highly recommend it. We are still talking about the great location, the quietness in the beautiful courtyard garden, the interior of the suites, the delicious food in the restaurant, but also about the high level of service they offered us during our stay. It is quite unique to have a combination of all these features in one hotel.
On our first day we were of course overcharged by a taxi bringing us from the Pest side back to the hotel. This was no longer a problem after we started using the hotel's taxi company. The location of the hotel at the Buda side is in a quiet side street, and for us it was perfect to relax there at the afternoons after spending the days at the much more busy Pest side of the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest - Castle District
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 3,330 reviews
District V / Inner City
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Budapest
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest
Baltazar Budapest
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Residence in the Buda Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Residence in the Buda Castle

Address: Fortuna utca 4, Budapest H-1014, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#30 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#30 Business Hotel in Budapest
#38 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. George Residence in the Buda Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant residence with its 26 suites, charming patio, luxury restaurant and cozy cafe is an ideal home for tourists, families, groups, either for short visits or extended stays. St. George Residence combines old time hospitality with a full range of modern services. Timeless elegance, historic ambience and the full comfort of the 21st century in a World Heritage environment. Recommended for those wishing a pleasant accommodation of luxury standard, lavish environs and historic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your St. George Residence in the Buda Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Residence In The Buda Castle Hotel Budapest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. George Residence in the Buda Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.